Four moderate earthquakes hit the same number of provinces across the country on Monday, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Philvolcs) reported. Phivolcs said the first quake with a magnitude of 3.9 occurred at 1:11 a.m. with its epicenter 155 kilometers (kms.) northwest of Calayan town in Cagayan. The second tremor with a magnitude of 3.1 happened at 1:17 a.m. Its epicenter was five kms. northwest of the Guihulngan in Negros Oriental. At 4:44 a.m., another quake with a magnitude of 3.2 struck Surigao Del Norte the epicenter of which was four kms. northwest of Taganaan. Six hours later, a fourth tremor with a magnitude of 3.3 was recorded in Kalinga province at 10:33 a.m. and its epicenter was six kms. southwest of Pinukpuk town. No damage was reported and no aftershocks are expected.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.