Rains halt UAAP games


The University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Board has decided to postpone the basketball games both in the men and women’s divisions because of inclement weather condition.

The matches between University of the Philippines (UP) and University of the East (UE), and defending champion Ateneo de Manila University and last year’s runner-up University of Santo Tomas (UST) men’s category; and De La Salle University and UE, and Ateneo and Adamson University will be played to a later date.

“The UAAP is also cancelling the basketball games (men and women) scheduled for tomorrow (Wednesday, August 21). They will be rescheduled to a later date. Fans are advised to hold on to their tickets,” according to the UAAP statement.

On Monday, the UAAP also cancelled the juniors games of Far Eastern University and UP Integrated School, UST and Ateneo, UE and National University (NU), and Adamson and De La Salle-Zobel for Tuesday (August 20).

Meanwhile, the UAAP beach volleyball and badminton competitions will begin on Saturday in different venues.

Defending champion UST battles De La Salle University in the women’s opening game of the beach volleyball tournament to be played at the UE Caloocan sand court.

UST has veteran spiker Maruja Banaticla and Pamela Lastimosa against La Salle’s Kim Fajardo and Cydthealee Demecillo or Cienne Cruz in their 8 a.m. game. Other matches are Adamson University-UP at 8:30 a.m., Ateneo de Manila University-NU at 9 a.m. and Far Eastern University (FEU)-UE clash at 9:30 a.m.

Seeing action in the men’s division are NU-Adamson at 10 a.m., FEU-La Salle at 10:30 a.m., UE-Ateneo at 11 a.m., UP-UST at 11:30 a.m., and FEU-UP at 1:30 p.m.

The badminton event will be staged at the Rizal Memorial Badminton Hall with NU opens its title retention bid in the men’s division against La Salle on Court 4 at 9 a.m. while last season’s runner-up Ateneo and UST fight on Court 3, FEU and Adamson clash on Court 2 and UP and UE collide on Court 5.

Women’s action starts at 1 p.m. as defending champion Lady Eagles take on the Lady Archers on Court 4, last year’s second placer Lady Tamaraws meet the Tigresses on Court 3, the Lady Warriors and the Lady Falcons play on Court 2, and the Lady Maroons and the Lady Bulldogs face off on Court 5.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.