• Rallycross returns to Barcelona


    The FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy will visit Barcelona this weekend as rallycross returns to Spain for the first time since 1989. A total of 75 cars will contest the tenth round of World RX including 42 Supercars, 21 Super1600 entries and 12 RX Lites in the supporting RX Lites Cup.

    The famous Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, home to both the Spanish F1 and MotoGP races, will host the inaugural Barcelona RX. A brand new rallycross track has been constructed inside the famous stadium section and includes a last corner Joker Lap – using the same chicane, which forms the penultimate corner of the Formula One circuit. A short test was run on the new RX track at the end of August, where cross cars and a rally car were used in a session that was set up to trial the new unsealed surfaces.

    Out of the permanent World RX teams, ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport’s regular driver Rene Muennich will be replaced by Germany’s Timo Scheider. Scheider, who like Mattias Ekstrom drives for Audi in DTM, is one of the few World RX drivers who have already experienced the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

    “Barcelona is a great place and I have had some fantastic races there with DTM,” explained Scheider, who has had two tests in the Audi S3 Supercar. “I’ve looked at the rallycross track already and I’ve been watching onboard videos of the Championship in general. I think the most difficult part for me is to get the right speed and timing on the asphalt and gravel. This is something I have to adapt to but I’m really looking forward to it.”

    Returning to the World RX paddock for the fourth and final time this year will be American Top Gear presenter Tanner Foust who will drive a Marklund Motorsport Volkswagen Polo. Fresh from a podium at Canada RX, the TV star and two-time Formula Drift Champion remains the only American to have a won a round of the World Championship, having triumphed at last year’s World RX of Finland.

    SDRX driver Petter Solberg continues to lead the overall Drivers’ Championship, 37 points ahead of Timmy Hansen who has won the last two events. In the Teams’ Championship, it’s Team Peugeot-Hansen who dominates the standings with just four rounds remaining. The Swedish-based squad is 53 points ahead of second-placed Ford Olsbergs MSE.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.