• Raterta shines anew in Manila Bay Clean-up Run


    Local bet Luisa Raterta won the 21-kilometer race for women in this year’s Manila Bay Clean-Up Run while the Kenyan trio of Eric Kibiwott Chepsiror, Jackson Chirchir and Abraham Klimo, made short work of their Filipino rivals in the men’s division. This was the second time the Sta Rosa-Based running coach emerged victorious in the Manila Broadcasting Company (MBC) event, after ruling the 42-kilometer division of the previous editions of the annual marathon.

    In the 10km race, Richard Salano, Reynaldo Villafranca, and Gilbert Laido won gold, silver, and bronze medals respectively. Lani Cardona, Marcose Dichoso, and Michelle Gilbuena, won the women’s division in that order.

    Mervin Duarte, Christopher Ulboc, Immanuel Camino, Joneza Sustituedo, Catherine Bristol, and Celia Rose Jaro won the 5km race.

    In the 3km run, James Darelle Arcuna, Michael Icao, and Pernille Siason finished first, second and third respectively. In the women’s side, Jenilyn Taller, Rachelle Ann Beltran, and Mariette Rementilla won the race in that order.

    The 2016 Manila Bay Clean-Up Run was a project of the MBC, in cooperation with the cities of Manila and Pasay, with support from Enervon, Petron, M. Lhuillier, Silka Papaya, Tapa King, Shakey’s, 555 Tuna, Kenny Rogers, Maynilad Water, and Lizalis.

    DZRH Operation Tulong and Land Bank jointly won the award for Biggest Delegation, with 487 and 449 runners, respectively.

    Sofitel Philippine Plaza gave the fun run a novel spin when its 10-strong team for the 5km race showed up in their service uniforms and emulated the famous “course des garcons” or waiters race popular in European marathons.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.