Rebisco founder tops taxpayers’ list


Pacquiao, 2nd; Kris, 6th; Sharon 13th

Jacinto ng, founder of food manufacturer Rebisco, emerged as the nation’s top individual taxpayer in 2014, a list released by the Bureau of Internal Revenue (BIR) has revealed.
Ng, also the chairman of Asia United Bank, paid P280 million in income tax, according to the BIR’s Top 500 Individual Taxpayers for Taxable Year 2014.

Second on the list was world boxing champion and Sarangani Rep. Emmanuel “Manny” Pacquiao with P210 million while Mercury Drug Corp. president Vivian Que-Azcona placed third with P153 million. Azcona was the top taxpayer in 2013.

The fourth top taxpayer was Kia distributor Jose Alvarez with P73 million, while Belle Corp. non-executive director Jacinto Ng Jr., who paid P66 million in taxes, was the fifth top taxpayer.

TV personality Kris Aquino was in sixth place with P54 million. Ranked seventh was real-estate developer Ronaldo Soliman, who paid P53 million.

In eighth place was Coca-Cola Bottlers Philippines Inc. President and Chief Executive Officer William Schultz, P51 million, followed by San Miguel Corp. (SMC) President Ramon Ang, who paid P51 million.

Lauro Baja 3rd, who heads UBS’ Philippine unit, ranked 10th with P50 million in taxes paid.

Other prominent names on the list were SMC’s Eduardo Cojuangco Jr. (11th); Union Bank’s Justo Ortiz (15th) and Victor Valdepeñas (21st); Energy Development Corp.’s Federico Lopez (16th); Ayala Corp.’s Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala 2nd (23rd) and Fernando Zobel de Ayala (25th); ABS-CBN Holdings Corp.’s Oscar Lopez (33rd); Banco de Oro’s Nestor Tan (42nd); MVP Group’s Manny Pangilinan (44th); and Rizal Commercial Banking Corp.’s Lorenzo Tan (46th).

Meanwhile, Forbes’ richest Filipinos also made it to the top 500 taxpayers list of the BIR.
The country’s richest man, Henry Sy Sr., came in at 53rd, John Gokongwei Jr. at 158th, Andrew Tan at 36th, Lucio Tan at 129th, Enrique Razon at 57th and George Ty at 369th.

Besides Aquino, various celebrities who also made it to the top list were Sharon Cuneta (13th), John Lloyd Cruz (22nd), Anne Curtis (32nd), Vic Sotto (45th), Piolo Pascual (48th), Coco Martin (66th), Sarah Geronimo (72nd), Derek Ramsay (90th), Bea Alonzo (112nd), Judy Ann Santos (133rd), Vice Ganda (137th), Kim Chui (187th), Robin Padilla (197th) and Boy Abunda (202nd).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

1 Comment

  1. Leodegardo Pruna on

    If what they declared and paid were done truthfully and honestly, then CONGRATULATIONS for contributing to the country’s growth. God bless the Philippines.