• Rivera, Vitaliano clinch WTA Future berths


    Shaira Hope Rivera and Miles Vitaliano dished out top forms to upstage their higher-ranked rivals on Thursday, rule their respective divisions in the Olivarez Cup Open 2015 and gain berths in the WTA Future Stars Tournament in Singapore in October.

    The third ranked Rivera kept the momentum of her stirring come-from-behind semis win over second seed Rafaella Villanueva, 5-7, 6-3, 6-1, as the Moncayo, Davao Del Norte find outplayed No. 1 Monica Therese Cruz, 6-4, 6-1, to capture the girls’ 16-and-under crown in the upset-marred event presented by Palawan Pawnshop-Palawan Express Pera Padala.

    Vitaliano, also ranked No. 3 in the 14-U play, survived Danna Abad in the quarterfinals, 2-6, 6-4, 10-6, eased out second seed Carlyn Bless Guarde, 6-3, 6-3, in the semis before upending No. 1 Mikaela Vicencio, 7-6(5), 6-0, to claim the crown in the Group I tournament sanctioned by the Philippine Tennis Association and backed by Dunlop AllClay Court as the official ball, Stronghold Insurance and Aseana City.

    Rivera, a La Salle-Zobel mainstay, and Vitaliano from Quezon City thus clinched the coveted berths in the WTA Futures where they will slug it out with the top junior players in the Asia-Pacific region from Oct. 20-27.

    Philta, through president Edwin Olivarez, designated the Olivarez Cup as the qualifying tournament for the WTA Future Stars, a series of community events featuring U-14 and U-16 tournaments produced in association with the Sport Singapore and Singapore Tennis Association featuring the top junior female talents in Asia-Pacific.

    In other results, Cruz from Naga made up for her 16-U setback by topping the premier 18-U section, beating Melanie Dizon, 6-2, 6-1, while second seed Macie Carlos humbled top seed Amanda Zoleta, 6-4, 6-3, to snare the 12-U diadem.

    Unranked Allen Manlangit from Iligan City also completed his remarkable run since shocking top seed Chris Prulla in the first round, 6-3, 6-0, chalking up five more victories, including a 5-7, 6-1, 6-3 win over Mark Cabahug in the finals to cop the boys’ 18-U crown.

    No. 3 Justin Suarez, son of former Davis Cup hero Raymond Suarez, also turned back top seed Cenon Gonzales Jr., 6-1, 6-4, to nail the 16-U title; second seed Marcus del Rosario repulsed No. 1 Nio Tria, 6-3, 7-5, to capture the 14-U title; No. 2 Miguel Luis Vicencio held off Jan Harold Trillanes, 6-2, 7-5, to clinch the 12-U plum; while top seed Marc Andrei Jarata subdued Samuel Nuguit, 4-1, 5-3, to pocket the 10-unisex crown.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.