• Rodgers, Pupos receive PSL President’s Trophy


    Martin Pupos

    World University Games-bound Joy Rodgers and Martin Jacob Pupos bagged the President’s Trophy awards after earning the highest FINA points in the Philippine Swimming League (PSL)-Diliman Preparatory School (DPS) 76th National Leg Series held at the DPS Swimming Pool in Quezon City.

    Rodgers, a University of the Philippines standout, had 545 points in winning the girls’ 15-over 50-meter breaststroke while Pupos got 585 points in topping the boys’ 15-over 50m freestyle. They earned P1,500 cash reward each.

    Indian Ocean All Stars Challenge gold medalists Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh and Stephen Guzman, and Swimmers of the Year Kyla Soguilon and Sean Terence Zamora also took some spotlight by claiming the Most Outstanding Swimmer (MOS) awards in the  Elite Category (Class A-B).

    Mojdeh won golds in the girls’ 8 years 100-meter Individual Medley, 50m butterfly, 50m breaststroke and 50m backstroke while Guzman topped the boys’ 10 years 100m IM, 50m butterfly, 50m breaststroke, 50m backstroke and 50m freestyle.

    Soguilon of Sun Yat Sen-Kalibo, pocketed the MOS in the girls’ 10 years while Zamora, an incoming Grade 10 student at University of Santo Tomas, dominated the boys’ 14 years event.

    The other Elite MOS winners were Janelle Blanch (7), Angela Claire Torrico (9), Guen Marie Sapinit (11), Charize Esmero (12), Jesreel Francisco (13), Patricia Aguilar (14) and Angelica Mae Medrano (15-over) in girls, and Rex Dela Cruz Jr. (7), Marc Bryan Dula (8), Krystian Tan (9), Jose Rommel Corpuz (11), Gregg Marasigan (12), Daryl Concepcion (13) and Sean Ortega (15-over) in boys.

    In Class C, the MOS awardees were Justin Badion (6-under), Mateo Ileto (7), Joshua Camacho (8), Mhike Sevilleja (9), Rey Angelo Capistrano (10), Jhondy Consul (11), Franz Toquilar (12), Rafhael Enriquez (13) and Luis Angelo Manliclic (14) in boys, and Nicole Camacho (7), Gail Inkee (8), Phoebe Dimaano (9), Alexis Pasag (10), Zylleda Eugenio (11), Angela Alegre (12), Jeremae Abainza (13), Sophia Era (14) and Aubrey Ybanez (15-over) in girls.

    “More than 500 swimmers from all over the country have participated in this edition and we’re happy that our hard work paid off. We won’t be getting tired doing these as we believe that these kids need venues to show their crafts and get a chance to represent the country in international scene,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    “We are now reviewing the results and we’ll be naming swimmers who are qualified to compete in Singapore. We want to give them proper exposure as early as now in preparation for big competitions like the World University Games,” added Papa.

    The other gold medalists in Novice were Rehanna Gargullo, Yania Lalap, Kim Bisdak, Edd Sanque, Ralf Abello, Eric Victoria, Noreen David, Jessie Del Mar, Ella Azores, Jesre Villamin, Tayshanulrich Braga, Mike Vergara, Jireh Gervacio, Edric Dela Cruz, Glaiza Ortiguerra, Gabrielle Pasao, Khalel Lapuz and Sean Legaspi.

    The PSL is a national sports swimming association for universities and colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.