• Tautuaa, Rosario top rookie draft

    ROS surprisingly picks Maverick as 3rd overall

    Ahanmisi Maverick  PHOTO BY RUSSEL PALMA

    Ahanmisi Maverick

    As expected, Talk ‘N Text selected Moala Tautuaa as this year’s top rookie while Troy Rosario was picked second overall in the 2015 Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Rookie Draft on Sunday at the Robinson’s Place in Ermita, Manila.

    Playmaker Ahanmisi Maverick, on the other hand, was surprisingly the third player to be selected by Rain or Shine.

    “It is really a great blessing that I was selected third overall in this draft. I never thought this would happen,” the 6-foot-2 Maverick said.

    “It is all God’s will. It is a humbling experience to be picked by coach Yeng (Guiao). I hope I can learn a lot from Paul Lee and their system. I will bring my defensive intensity, my offensive and passing skills to this team,” he added.

    Rain or Shine head coach Yeng Guiao admitted that the former University of Minnesota guard was not his first choice, but his coaching staff and team owners convinced him to draft Maverick.

    “He was not my first choice but they (Coaching staff) told me to select him. I think he will provide intensity because he is an impact player,” said Guiao. “We are happy with our choices so far.”

    Rain or Shine also picked shooting guard Josan Nimes of Mapua as 12th in the first round and Adamson forward Don Trollano as 15th in the second round.

    The Meralco Bolts chose Ateneo de Manila University guard Chris Newsome as their fourth overall pick and San Beda playmaker Baser Amer as their seventh pick in the first round.

    Coach Tim Cone’s Barangay Ginebra selected University of Perpetual Help’s point guard Earl Scottie Thompson as fifth while San Beda’s Garvo Lanete was selected by Northern Luzon Expressway (NLEX) as sixth followed by La Salle’s Norbert Torres as eighth overall.

    Blackwater got Art Dela Cruz of San Beda (ninth), NLEX acquired Glenn Khabunting of National University (10th) and Alaska has Kevin Racal of Letran (11th).

    Also selected in the second round were Almond Vosotros (Blackwater, 13th), Bradwyn Guinto (Kia, 14th), Aljon Mariano (Ginebra, 16th), Simon Enciso (Rain or Shine, 17th), Marion Magat (Alaska, 18th), Kris Rosales (Barako Bull, 20th); Jaypee Mendoza (Alaska, 21st); Michael Miranda (Barako, 22nd) and Abel Galliguez (Alaska, 23rd).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.