Route changes for Italian Rally

The Italian Rally will feature some changes to make it more exciting compared to last year. WRC.COM

The Italian Rally will feature some changes to make it more exciting compared to last year. WRC.COM

To make the sixth leg of the 2016 World Rally Championship (WRC) more exciting, the route of this year’s Rally Italia Sardegna scheduled for June 10 to 13 will feature a number of changes compared to 2015, including the introduction of two brand new stages.

The WRC leg in Italy was moved to the Mediterranean island of Sardinia in 2004. It will be based for the third year in a row in the coastal city of Alghero in the northwest of the island with stages in the surrounding provinces of Sassari and Olbia-Tempio.

The stage action will kick off on Friday night with the two-kilometer Ittiri Arena Show Super Special, a modified version of the popular test that was run twice during Sunday’s leg in 2015. Last year’s opener, the Citta’ di Cagliari stage in the south coast capital city, has been dropped.

Sunday’s schedule features 102 timed kilometers and a loop of four stages that is repeated after a mid point service in Alghero. Based in the Logudoro and Anglona regions, the day will start with the Ardara-Ozieri (7.5 kilometers), run in the reverse direction to 2015, followed by the all new Tula (15 kilometers). After a refuel, the teams will tackle Castelsardo (14 kilometers) and Tergu-Osilo (14.88 kilometers), both back in the itinerary after sitting out in 2015.

Sunday will be the longest and toughest of the Italian Rally with a total of six stages totaling 177 kilometers in the Monte Acuto region. After the familiar Monti di Alà (21.20 kilometers) and Coiluna-Loelle (22.50 kilometers) stages, the teams will tackle an extended version of Monte Lerno that at 44 kilometers is the longest stage of the event.

Monday’s final leg features two stages, run twice without a service, that total 43.54 competitive kilometers. The loop will start with the all-new Sassari-Argentiera (10k kilometers) and then the 11.77-kilometer Cala Flumini stage that will be the live TV Power Stage again this year.

After a total of 19 stages and 325 timed kilometers, the teams will head to Alghero’s harbor side for the awarding ceremony.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.