• Rural Bankers Association introduces new board


    The Rural Bankers Association of the Philippines (RBAP) introduced its newly elected officers and directors for the 2014-2015 term at the inauguration and induction ceremony held last July 1, 2014 at Sofitel Philippines Plaza, Manila.

    Bicol rural banker Jose Misael B. Moraleda—RBAP’s outgoing vice president for Luzon—was sworn in as the new president of the association.

    Moraleda is the president of Rural Bank of Camalig (Albay), Inc. and the Rural Bank of Ocampo in Camarines Sur. He succeeded Vittorio Z. Almario, who will now sit as the chairman of RBAP’s technical arm, Rural Bankers Research and Development Foundation, Inc.

    In his first speech as president of the RBAP, Moraleda urged his fellow rural bankers to further strengthen their core business and begin adapting to external developments.

    “We must not continue choosing to ignore the signs prompting us to strengthen our core business and adapt to external changes,” Moraleda said.

    Sharing his positive outlook for the industry, Moraleda pointed out that several rural banks remain resilient and profitable through the “many learnings and opportunities that they have gathered from each other and from partners through the RBAP.”

    For this, he cheered the Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) for its active role in guaranteeing an enabling environment for the rural banking industry.

    “We are fortunate that the present BSP leadership takes a proactive role in providing a healthy system of collaboration and consultation for a supportive regulatory atmosphere,” Moraleda said.

    “The regulatory framework in which we operate now actually enables and strengthens the rural banking sector to better manage risks, incorporate transparency in the delivery of financial services and survive in the process,” he added.

    For this year’s inauguration, BSP Governor Amando M. Tetangco Jr. served as the inducting officer.

    The other inductees were Ormon Bank, Inc. president Fernando M. Ordoveza as vice president for Luzon; Community Rural Bank of Catmon, Inc. president Armida J. Caguitla as vice president for the Visayas; and Banco Dipolog, Inc. director Atty. Michael Alan Z. Ranillo as vice president for Mindanao.

    San Francisco del Monte Rural Bank president Davidson G. Pascual was also installed as treasurer, while Tamaraw Rural Bank, Inc. president Emerito L. Ramos III and Rural Bank of Solano (NV), Inc. Atty. Mary Ann E.M. Tupasi were inducted as assistant treasurer and corporate secretary, respectively.

    Meanwhile, the new RBAP directors are Rang-ay Bank (A Rural Bank,) Inc. vice president Ives Jesus C. Nisce II; Community Rural Bank of San Felipe Inc. president Eugenio M. Puzon Jr.; Rural Bank of Sta. Rosa de Lima president
    Orlando F. Cervantes; Rural Bank of Miag-ao (Iloilo) Inc. vice president Rey N. Flores; Rural Bank of Malitbog Inc. president Lorenzo E. Veloso; Secured Bank, Inc. vice president

    Rogelio W. Go; Rural Bank of Digos Inc. assistant vice president Giovanni D. Gabriento and Partner Rural Bank director Eugenio A. Demigilio Jr.

    After the induction of the new board, the BSP also officially handed over the supervision of the Rural Banking Management Course to the RBAP.

    The Rural Bank Management Course is a foundational course for the senior management team of rural banks that will discuss the oversight role of the management and directors and the operational aspects of banking.

    With the turnover, the RBAP will now facilitate the course with its own set of resource speakers and trainers. Among the topics covered by the course are Risk Centric Oversight of Banks, Introduction to

    Financial Risk Management, Governance and Control, Financial Statement Analysis and BSP Reportorial Requirements.

    As of the first half, the RBAP has 535 member rural banks with close to 2,500 branches altogether.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.