San Beda Sea Lions score triple title win


The San Beda College (SBC) Sea Lions made a historic triple title win in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) swimming tournament at the Rizal Memorial Sports Center Swimming Pool in Malate, Manila on Sunday.

The San Beda Sea Lions clinched their 15th consecutive title with 1467 points, followed by the De La Salle-College of St. Benilde (CSB) Blazers with 473.5 points, and Arellano University (AU) Chiefs with 263 points.

San Beda’s Guillermo Clemente finished the 100-meter breaststroke in 1:07.38 minute, breaking Emilio Aguinaldo College (EAC) General Adan Gonzales’ record of 1:07.80 minute in 2013. Also, Sea Lion Robi Mangilinan replaced Wilfredo Sunglao’s record of 54.41 seconds in 2013 in the 100-meter freestyle with his own, 54.22 seconds.

Luis Evangelista of San Beda recorded the fastest finish in the 400-meter individual medley with 4:50.59 minutes, surpassing Andrei Lorenzo Manzo’s record of 4:52.95 minutes in 2014. Clemente, Christian Dimaculangan, John Henry Gurango and Jason Villaruz exceeded expectations, finishing in just 4:03.02 minutes to break the 2014 record of 4:09.52 of San Beda swimmers Dimaculangan, Manzo, Sunglao and Ruentone Jugar in the 400-meter medley.

“I told them to enjoy the competition and focus on the events where they will be participating. The players responded well to the program that we prepared this season and they delivered great results,” NCAA back-to-back-back Coach of the Year Gavino Roxas Jr. said on his wards’ record-breaking feats.

In the women’s event, the San Beda Sea Lionesses closed their campaign by claiming their sixth straight crown with 1300 points, followed by CSB Lady Blazers and EAC Lady Generals with 811.5 and 221.5 points, respectively.

The San Beda Junior Sea Lions recaptured the swimming title with a total of 1037.5 points, overthrowing the reigning 12-peat champions CSB-La Salle Greenhills (LSGH) that posted a mere 948.5 points. The AU Braves finished third with 286 points in the juniors’ division.

“I always remind the athletes to remain disciplined and to work hard. The team is intact because we trained together and we received enough support from our team manager and our school,” the San Beda coach added.

Miguel Karlo Barlisan of LSGH and John Soriano of AU received the Most Valuable Player (MVP) and the Rookie of the Year awards, respectively, in the juniors’ division.

Lady Blazer Maria Aresa Lipat claimed her third consecutive MVP plum, while Joshua Junsay of SBC acquired his second.

Evangelista and Sea Lioness Febbie Mae Porras were named Rookies of the Year in the men’s and women’s brackets, respectively.

Roxas is hopeful that the San Beda men’s swimming team can exceed the number of titles that Mapua Institute of Technology (MIT) has. “We’ll take it one by one. It is hard to say that we can make it. But hopefully, we can because they (MIT) really have many championships. I think they have 40 titles, while we now have 23. There are still many to go,” he concluded.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.