SC wont stop DOJ probe on Atimonan shootout


THE Supreme Court (SC) has refused to grant the plea of Senior Supt. Hansel Marantan, who sought to stop the Justice department’s probe on the multiple murder charges filed against him in connection with the alleged January 6 “rubout” that killed 13 people, including suspected jueteng kingpin Vic Siman.

In his petition for certiorari before the SC, Marantan sought for the immediate issuance of a temporary restraining order (TRO) and writ of preliminary injunction against Department of Justice (DOJ) Secretary Leila De Lima and the agency’s special investigating panel.

Marantan’s petition questioned the DOJ’s claim that the Ati­monan encounter was “definitely no shootout,” even before the people involved could submit their affidavits. The DOJ wrapped up its preliminary investigation on June 4 after Marantan had failed to show up in the hearing.

However, Marantan maintains that his motion to defer proceedings was filed on the basis of “judicial courtesy”, saying the investigation must be suspended until the constitutional issues raised in the petition have been fully resolved.

Meanwhile, the National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) branded the Atimonan encounter as “a well calculated plan to close the book on Vic Siman under the pretext of Coplan Armado, using government forces and resources.”

President Benigno Aquino 3rd ordered the DOJ to file criminal and administrative charges against Marantan and Chief Supt. James Andres Melad upon receiving the NBI’s findings.

Besides Marantan and Melad, the following police officials were also charged: Senior Insp. John Paolo Carracedo, SPO1 Arturo Sarmiento, Supt. Ramon Balauag, Senior Insp. Timoteo Orig, SPO3 Joselito de Guzman, SPO1 Carlo Cataquiz, PO3 Eduardo Oronan, PO2 Nelson Indal, PO2 Al Bhazar Jailani, PO1 Wryan Sardea, PO1 Rodel Talento, Police Chief Insp. Grant Gollod, Inspectors Ferdinand Aguilar and Evaristo San Juan, PO3 Benedict Dimayuga, PO2 Ronnie Serdena, PO1 Esperidion Corpuz Jr., PO1 Bernie de Leon, and PO1 Allen Ayubo.

Also implicated in the killing were Lt. Colonel Monico Abang, Capt. Erwin Macalinao, Lt. Rico Tagure, Technical Sgt. Melanio Balauitan, Corporal Clark Magusara, Privates First Class Michael Franco, Kirby-Tam Coronel, Alvin Roque Pabon, Ricky Jay Borja, Melvin Lumalang, Gil Gallego, and Privates Marc Zaldy Docdoc, Emergin Barrete, and Michard Mangao.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.