Semerad, Aroga bag Pivotal Player plum


ANTHONY Semerad and Alfred Aroga, two players who played a key roles in their respective teams’ title run, will be honored by the University Athletic Association of the Philippines-National Collegiate Athletic Association Press Corps and Smart in the 2014 Collegiate Basketball Awards on December 4 at the Saisaki-Kamayan Edsa.

San Beda’s Semerad and National University’s Aroga were adjudged as this year’s Pivotal Players, the honor given by collegiate basketball scribes to cagers who helped their teams reach the ultimate goal of winning the championship.

Semerad had an NCAA finals series to remember against Arellano when he notched 30 points to lead San Beda to its fifth straight league. The campaign was Semerad’s last collegiate game before heading to the Philippine Basketball Association to play for Globalport.

Aroga, on the other hand, shined during the UAAP titular showdown, posting a 24-point, 18-rebound effort in Game Three to help NU end its 60-year title drought by beating Far Eastern University.

Meanwhile, Glenn Khobuntin of NU, Almond Vosotros of De La Salle, and Kyle Pascual of San Beda will also be honored with the Super Senior trophy.

Eric Altamirano of NU and Boyet Fernandez of San Beda will receive Coach of the Year plums along with Collegiate Mythical Team members Kiefer Ravena of Ateneo,

Earl Scottie Thompson of Perpetual Help, Mac Belo of FEU, Ola Adeogun of San Beda, and Jeron Teng of De La Salle.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.