• Sen. Coseteng Swimming Championships fires off today


    More than 300 tankers from different parts of the country will be seeing action in the 106th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series – 10th Sen. Nikki Coseteng Swimming Championships beginning today at the Diliman Preparatory School Swiming Pool in Quezon City.

     Nikki Coseteng CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    Nikki Coseteng CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

    The competition will be divided into two categories – the Class A-B and Class C – with medals are up for grabs in the 6-under, 7-year, 8-year, 9-year, 10-year, 11-year, 12-year, 13-year, 14-year and 15-over for boys and girls.

    “The grassroots development program of association continues. We welcome everyone in this competition regardless of their affiliations. It’s open to all, no membership requirement,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

    Trophies await the Most Outstanding Swimmer awardees and the top three teams while two swimmers (one male and one female) with the highest International Swimming Federation (FINA) points will get the President’s Trophy and P1,500 each.

    “PSL caters the young swimming from two years old up to 18 and over. Swimmers must undergo this process of development as there are no shortcuts in sports, it is measured by time and PSL cannot go wrong in giving rise to athletes. At the end, it must be parallel with our goal of having sound mind and body,” added Papa.

    The event also serves as qualifying tournament as PSL will select swimmers for international competitions next year including the Indian Ocean All-Star Challenge in Perth, Australia and the Buccaneer Invitational Swimming Championship in Tokyo, Japan.

    Leading the star-studded cast in the boys’ class are reigning Male Swimming of the Year Sean Terence Zamora, Philippine junior record holder Jerard Dominic Jacinto, Palarong Pambansa gold medalist Rio Lorenzo Malapitan, NCAA champion Sean Elijah Enero and UAAP winner Drew Benett Magbag.

    Also seeing action are Diliman Preparatory School standouts Paul Christian King Cusing and Albert Sermonia 2nd, and Jeffrey Hirao of College of Saint Benilde.

    Spolight will focus on veteran international campaigners Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Immaculate Heart of Mary College Paranaque, Kyla Soguilon of Sun Yat Sen Kalibo and Tarlac pride Triza Haileyana Tabamo in the girls’ division.

    The PSL tankers are revving up for the Hamilton Aquatics Winter Long Course Swimming Championship scheduled next week in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

    “They will use this competition to train for the Dubai meet. It’s our first time to compete in the Middle East and we’re hoping to make an impact,” added Papa.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.