• Shellfishes from Pangasinan sold in Baguio ‘poisonous’


    BAGUIO CITY: The Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR) has found that shellfishes from Bolinao and Anda towns in Pangasinan being sold in Baguio City are not free of the so-called red tide and are therefore poisonous.

    Results of laboratory analysis of paralytic shellfish poison (PSP) at BFAR’s Marine Biotoxin Laboratory, Regional Mariculture Technology Demonstration Center Station in Lucap, Alaminos City, on March 19 confirmed that samples of shellfishes from Bolinao sold in the Baguio City Market are poisonous.

    The samples given by BFAR-Cordillera to BFAR Region I had a toxicity level of 62 µgSTX or 100g of shellfish meat.

    The samples included shellfishes collected at Dumaquillas Bay in Zamboanga del Sur and Bataan coastal waters (Mariveles, Limay, Orion Pillar, Balanga, Orani, Abucay and Samal) that were found still positive for paralytic and shellfish poison whose level is beyond government’s regulatory limit.

    Based on the results of BFAR’s study, authorities are advised that shellfishes and Acetes sp. or alamang (tiny shrimps) gathered from the areas mentioned are not safe for human consumption.

    Fish, squids, shrimps and crabs are safe provided that they are fresh and washed thoroughly, and internal organs such as gills and intestines are removed before cooking, the bureau said.

    BFAR officials said areas free from toxic “red tide” include coastal waters of Cavite, Las Piñas City, Parañaque City, Navotas City and Bulacan in Manila Bay; coastal waters of Alaminos and Wawa, Bani, in Pangasinan; Masinloc Bay in Zambales; coastal waters of Milagros and Mandaon in Masbate; Juag Lagoon in Matnog and Sorsogon Bay in Sorsogon; Honda and Puerto bays in Puerto Princesa City and Inner Malam–paya Sound in Taytay, Palawan; coastal waters of Pilar, President Roxas, Panay, Roxas City, Ivisan and Saplan in Capiz; coastal waters of E.B. Magalona, Pontevedra, Pulu–pandan, Valladolid, Talisay City, Bacolod City, Hinigaran, Cadiz City, Victoria City, Bago City, Binalbagan and San Enrique in Negros Occidental; Maqueda Bay, Villareal Bay, Irong-Irong Bay, Cambatutay Bay and coastal waters of Calbuyog City in Western Samar; Matarinao Bay in Eastern Samar, Ormoc, San, Pedro, Cancabato and Carigara bays in Leyte; Biliran waters in Biliran province; Sibugay Bay in Zamboanga Sibugay; Murcle–lagos Bay in Zamboanga del Norte and Misamis Occidental; Hina–tuan, Bislig and Lianga bays in Surigao del Sur; Balite Bay, Mati, Davao Oriental; and Taguines Lagoon in Benoni Mahinog, Camuguin Island.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.