Siblings put on golden show at PSL swim meet in Aklan


KALIBO, Aklan – Soguilon siblings Kyla and Kobe hauled in a total of three gold medals on the opening day of the 1st Congressman Ted Haresco Jr. Swimming Cup on Saturday at the Makato Sports Complex.
Kyla, a gold medalist in the 2014 Western Cape Swimming Gala in South Africa, topped the girls’ 9 years 50-meter butterfly in record fashion. Her time of 37.44 seconds broke the 37.60 set of Bhay Newberry in 2012.
The nine-year-old incoming Grade 4 student at Kalibo Sun Yat Sen School also dominated the 200m Individual Medley (IM) with 3:04.72.
Kobe made it a double celebration for the Soguilons by ruling the boys’ 14 years 200m IM (2:52.93) and finishing second in the 50m butterfly (1:22.17).

The tournament, which is the 56th leg of Philippine Swimming League (PSL) series, serves as tryout for international competition in Singapore in July and the prestigious 2015 Summer World Universiade in Gwangju, South Korea.
Another Aklan bet, Michael Lozada, won the boys’ 7 years 200m IM (3:31.67) and 50m butterfly (40.72).
Also grabbing two gold medals were 2013 PSL Swimmer of the Year McTracy Alindogan (boys’ 13 years 200m IM and 100m butterfly), Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh (girls’ 7 years 200m IM and 50m butterfly), Emanuel Joshua Lorbes (boys’ 16 years 200m IM and 100m butterfly), Sean Elijah Enero (boys’ 15 years 200m IM and 100m butterfly), Eirik Rivera (boys’ 8 years 200m IM and 50m butterfly), Kensaku Hatazawa (boys’ 9 years 200m IM and 50m butterfly), David Villaruz (boys’ 11 200m IM and 100m butterfly), Andrea Pacheco (girls’ 15 years 200m IM and 100m butterfly), Lester Yatar (boys’ 17 years 200m IM and 100m butterfly) and Trisha Bongco (girls’ 11 years 200m IM and 100m butterfly).
Former senator Nikki Coseteng, Aklan Representative Ted Haresco Jr., Makato Mayor Ben Torres, Board Members Soviet dela Cruz and Andoy Gelito, PSL Secretary General Maria Susan Benasa and Aklan Swimming Club President Kokoy Soguilon attended the opening ceremonies.
“We are happy that the PSL came here to stage this event. We are in full support with their program in discovering talents. Our local government is willing to extend all our efforts in this endeavor led by PSL President Susan Papa. We want to make this province as one of the country’s satellite venues in honing young swimmers for future international competitions,” said Haresco.
PSL President Susan Papa expressed gratitude over the support thrown by the local government unit. “We want to thank the whole community of Aklan for allowing us to stage this tournament here in Kalibo. We always believe that a lot of good swimmers could be found in this point of Western Visayas region.”
The other gold winners:

Rex Dela Cruz (boys’ 6 years 200m IM), Ralph Bultron (boys’ 10 years 200m IM), Alynna Garcia (girls’ 8 years 200m IM), Angela Niones (girls’ 10 years 200m IM), Kara Colaste (girls’ 13 years 200m IM), Mae Opina (girls’ 12 years 200m IM), Samuel Reodica (boys’ 12 years 200m IM), Joven Gayem (boys’ 14 years 100m butterfly), Rhodisper Dimapilis boys’ 12 years 100m butterfly), Tiffany Yunsal (girls’ 12 years 100m butterfly), Patricia Molino (girls’ 16 years 100m butterfly), Celine Delovato (girls’ 14 years 100m butterfly), Ralph Bultron (boys’ 10 years 50m butterfly) and Raine Bultron (girls’ 6 years 50m butterfly).
PSL is accredited by the Federation of School Sports of the Philippines – an affiliate of the Federation International Sports University.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.