Singkuwento Int’l Film Fest in full gear on Year 3

Short film entry ‘Anyang Melagas ya ing Tangke king Sala’ (Broken from the Stem of Light) by TMT layout artist Rey Tamayo Jr. who is representing Pampanga

Short film entry ‘Anyang Melagas ya ing Tangke king Sala’ (Broken from the Stem of Light) by TMT layout artist Rey Tamayo Jr. who is representing Pampanga

Times layout artist’s Kapampangan film included in shorts finalists


The Manila Times welcomes the announcement of the forthcoming 3rd Singkuwento International Film Festival (SIMFF) this coming February, which will partly be held at the National Commission for Culture and the Arts and at the UP Film Center UP Diliman Quezon City.

The paper is especially proud that the work of one of its layout artists Rey Tamayo Jr. of UP Diliman has been chosen as a finalist for the short films category representing Pampanga. His film is entitled Anyang Melagas ya ing Tangke king Sala” (Broken from the Stem of Light).

Festival director Perry Escaño explains, “The members of the screening committee really had a hard time choosing the finalists. They even worked during the holidays. They went an extra mile to ensure that we have an impressive line-up. This is an exciting year for Singkuwento as we offer a variety of stories and films for exhibition. ”

This year’s festival opening film is Louie Ignacio’s Laut, starring Barbie Forteza, with a 6:30pm screening on February 19 at the NCCA’s Leandro Locsin Theater.

Adolfo Alix Jr.’s Kinabukasan, starring Alden Richards and Nora Aunor is part of this year’s short films exhibition, with a special showing on February 24.

Joel Lamangan’s Sekyu, starring Allen Dizon, Sunshine Dizon and Melai Cantiveros, serves as the SIMMF closing film with screening on February 27.

DA Palagtiw’s ‘Pisara’ (BlackBoard), starring Ritz Azul, Ahron Villena and Regine Angeles, is part of the World Premieres category

DA Palagtiw’s ‘Pisara’ (BlackBoard), starring Ritz Azul, Ahron Villena and Regine Angeles, is part of the World Premieres category

The local documentary category finalists are: A Family Reunion, by director Sherbien Dacalanio (Quezon City), from the Goethe-Institut Philippines; Naglalahong Pamana (Fading Heritage), by directors Lucy Lavirotte, Berna Sastrillo, David Levi and Jerrica Manongdo (Quezon City) from the University of the Philippines Diliman; and Sagisag (A Symbol), by Pauline Mae Gonida (Valenzuela), from the Colegio de San Juan de Letran Manila.

The short film category finalists are: Four films from the province of Bulacan namely Incubo (Incubus), by Herwin Cabasal, from UP Diliman; Mr. Postman, by Herwin Cabasal, from UP Diliman; Reyna Christina (Queen Christina),” by Pia Larina Dimagiba, UP Diliman; Upos, by Mel Jastine Sanchez, from CEU Malolos.

The lone finalist from Cavite is Kyel, by Arvin Kadiboy Belarmino, from De La Salle Uiversity- Dasmariñas, while from Laguna is Indifference, by Alfonso Silva, from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde Manila.

Psychonaut, by Jomz Ramirez, from UP Los Baños, is from Mandaluyong City, while The Girlfriend Experience, by Marco Gatchalian, from Mapua Institute of Technology Manila is from Makati City.

The Manila short film contingents are Caretaker, by Seymour Sanchez, from UP Diliman; Makata (The Little Poet), by Paulo Parohinog, from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde; Finish Line, by Martin Mayuga, from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde; Si Narra at ang Lihim na Silid sa Paradiso (Narra and the Hidden Room Paradiso), by Janine Maniego, from UP Diliman.

Representing Muntinlupa City is The Truth as Told in Lies, by Inigo Ramil Gorgetti, from UP Diliman.

From Paranaque City are Caritas, by Ariel Buenaventura II, from De La Salle College of Saint Benilde; and Gastusing Dasal, by Rico Entico, from UP Diliman. From San Juan is Cups Ka Ba?, by Juan Carlo Tarobal, from UP Diliman.

Besides Tamayo’s entry, another finalist from Pampanga is Tuknang Mu Rin (Will End) by Brianne Carlo Amparado, from Holy Angel University.

The finalists from Tarlac are Ratatat Nang Dante (Dante’s Shot), by Jasper Ramon Tulabot, from Tarlac State University; and Trio, by Ian Christopher M. Cruz, also from Tarlac State Univesity.

The two entries from Taytay, Rizal, are Kalaro (Playmate), by Migo Matas, from Asia Pacific Film Institute; and Walang Nakakita (No One Saw), codirected by Migo and Coke Matas, from Asia Pacific Film Institute.

The six entries from Quezon City are: Balikbayan Box, by Karl Justin Martin, from New Era University; Ipinanganak na Nakayapak(Born Barefoot), by Jerrica Angela A. Manongdo, from UP Diliman; Man in the Cinema House, by Bernard Jay Mercado, from UP Diliman; Minsan sa Isang Dapithapon (Once at Dusk), by Janna Uy, from Philippine Women’s University; Senisado (The Gray Lines), by John Peter Chua, from Ateneo de Manila University; and The Swindler, by Jae-re Louise Liwanag, from Colegio de San Juan De Letran Manila.

The Documentary Film (International Category) finalists are from Germany and France, Glaube Sitte Heimat (Cross and Banner), by Jürgen Ellinghaus, Philippines, Sukat (Measure), by Jae-re Louise Liwanag, a Colegio de San Juan De Letran student and United Kingdom, Meteorite Hunters, by Laura Binnie.

For Short Film (International Category), there are two entries from Philippines, Ang Mga Alingawngaw Sa Panahon ng Pagpasya (Echoes in Midst of Indecision,” by Hector Barretto Calma, alumni from PUP Manila, and Mga Handuraw Sa Kahilitan (Daydreams of Wilderness), by Amaya Han, a University of San Carlos Cebu City alumna.

One entry from Korea, The Saviour, by Nash Ang and one from Taiwan, Expatz ( Gringos Locos), by Jimmie Wing.

World Premieres in this year’s festival include Johnny Mahinay’s Atras, starring Mateo Mabagal, Rhett Ivan Regalado and Raycien Caberte; Jill Singson Urdaneta’s Partee, starring Kiko Matos, Angela Cortez, Felix Roco; DA Palagtiw’s Pisara (BlackBoard),starring Ritz Azul, Ahron Villena and Regine Angeles; and Jojo Nadela’s Sugarol, starring Jennifer Dabu, Salvador Arguelles and Eunice Lagusad.

The line-up for the International Film Festival Premiere Feature Film section are Mike Magat’s Isang Hakbang, starring Snooky Serna, Ricardo Cepeda and Buboy Villar; and Paolo Edirinal Tesico’s Ligaw, starring Melissa Ricks, Eva Darren and Crispin Pineda.

Special screenings of Award-Winning Feature Films include Alvin Yapan’s An Kubo sa Kawayan, Louie Ignacio’s Child Haus, Arlyn Dela Cruz’s Maratabat, and a special screening Joselito Altarejos’ work in progress film, Siklo.

The lone Filipino Film Classic for Exhibition is Ishamael Bernal’s Himala.

The Foreign Feature Film for exhibition are Spain, Changing Direction, Kuya Manzano, director; and from USA, Randal Kamradt’s Faraway.

And finally, the Short Film and Documentary Shorts are Bituka ng Sta. Mesa, by Hector Barretto Calma’s, director; Donnie Sacueza’s “BJ,” Joe Bacus’ Ika-3 Putahi (Recipe No. 3), Jethro Patalinghug’s My Revolutionary Mother, Chloe Veloso’s Pahiyom Alang Kang Evelyn (A Smile for Evelyn), Martika Ramirez’s Escobar’s Pusong Bato, and TNT (Always on the Run), by Roberto Reyes Ang.

The festival will run from February 19 to 27 at the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA) in Intramuros, Manila, and from March 2 to 4 and March 7 to 8 at the UPFI UP Film Center UP Diliman Quezon City.

Tickets and festival passes are now available via TicketWorld.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.