Slaughter leads 79 hopefuls in PBA rookie draft Sunday



Barangay Ginebra is expected to pick 6’11 Greg Slaughter as no. 1
overall in Sunday’s 39th Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Annual
Rookie Draft at the Robinson’s Place in Ermita, Manila.
The Gin Kings, who owned the right for the no. 1 pick in a earlier
trade with Air 21, expressed interest in the former Gilas Pilipinas
mainstay Slaughter to partner with 6’9 Japeth Aguilar.

Coach Ato Agustin hopes Slaughter and Aguilar could help end the Kings
five-year title drought. They last won a championship in 2008.
After Ginebra, the next to pick is recent Governor’s Cup titlist San
Mig Coffee, which is also expected to go for 6’7 former NCAA MVP Ian

The third is Rain or Shine, which has announced its preference for the 6’7 Letran center Raymund Almazan.
From the original list of 85 applicants, the number was reduced to 79 two withdrew and four failed to attend the traditional rookie biometrics without valid reason.
PBA Commissioner Chito Salud will lead the proceedings along with the new
board, chairman Ramon Segismundo of Meralco.
If Ginebra chooses Slaughter it would be the second straight year a big man will dominate the draft. Fellow Cebuano and 6’10 June Mar Fajardo was picked by Petron Blaze last year.
Barako Bull owns picks no. 4, 5 and 6, but reports said that the Energy Cola is keen on trading their rights for Dylan Ababou (Ginebra), Magi Sison and Mark Isip (Petron) and Dinok Miranda (Globalport). The PBA commissioner’s office, however, has not confirmed the deal.
Globalport is no. 7 followed by Alaska and Rain or Shine. San Mig Coffee concludes the first round at no. 10, but Petron, Air21, Meralco, and defending Philippine Cup champion Talk `N Text have no first round picks because of earlier trades.

Others expected to make the first round are reigning UAAP MVP Terrence Romeo, RR Garcia, Jerick Teng, Ryan Buenafe and 6’7 Isaac Holstein.

Also in the list are Nico Salva, James Forrester, Jerick Fortuna, Jett Vidal, Eliud Poligrates, Carlo Lastimosa, Justin Melton, JR Cawaling, Justin Chua, Rob Celiz, Alex Nuyles, Nate Mature, LA Revilla and Mike Parala.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.