Soguilon, Zamora lead PSL People’s Choice winners


psl20150112Multi-gold medalists Kyla Soguilon of Aklan and Sean Terence Zamora of University of Santo Tomas led the Philippine Swimming League (PSL) People’s Choice awardees after a weeklong online voting.

Soguilon garnered a total of 1,525 votes to earn the Girls’ Swimmer of the Year plum against Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Denjylie Cordero, Charize Esmero, Jesreel Francisco, Aubrey Tom, Mary Rose Occeno, Bela Magtibay, Chesca Joves and Angelica Mae Medrano.

For his part, Zamora pocketed the Boys’ Swimmer of the Year award after earning 3,314 votes and beat Michael Gabriel Lozada, Martin Jacob Pupos, Mico Abina and Daryl Concepcion.

“The People’s Choice voting ended in dramatic fashion. The People’s Choice award that gives 15 percent in the criteria was a breath-taking manner from beginning to the end. It gave every candidate swimmers to unify among their families, fans, friends and perhaps even enemies, to work together for the sake of this event. It is practically a 24/7 monitoring events for some participants,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

“As early as now, we want to open the eyes and mind of our young PSL swimmers. It is not only the performance that’s important. But in choosing outstanding swimmer, they must be completely and consistently outstanding. That’s why there are criteria to consider,” she added.

The People’s Choice winners for the Rookie of the Year are Rio Lorenzo Malapitan for boys (19,543) and Audrey Ybanez for girls (2,334) while the Most Improved are Chloe Marie Fabic for girls (1,142) and Joey del Rosario for boys (752). Ryan Robles won the People’s Choice Coach of the Year with 2,293 votes.

“The whole world was involved because I saw likes from India, Canada, England, France, China, Japan, US, Singapore, Hong Kong, Malaysia, and Thailand. An amazing competition,” said Atty. Ma. Teresa Mahiwo.

The PSL is the National University Sports Association for Colleges and Universities accredited to Federation of School Sports Associations of the Philippines (FESSAP) and internationally affiliated to Federation International Sports University (FISU).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.