• Southeast Asia has a front seat at the Oscars

    88th Annual Academy Awards host Chris Rock

    88th Annual Academy Awards host Chris Rock

    HBO also brings 14 viewers from the region to LA for awards night

    SINGAPORE: Besides broadcasting the 88th Academy Awards live and  exclusively on HBO on Monday, February 29, across multiple screens, the cable movie channel is set to take 14 viewers from Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Taiwan, Hong Kong and the Philippines to watch the red carpet live in Los Angeles.

    True to the glamour and glitz of Hollywood’s biggest event of the year, the 14 winners of HBO’s “2015 Ultimate Oscars Experience” contest will receive celebrity treatment, as they arrive at the awards decked in red carpet style ready to be star struck.

    Seven new pairs of viewers this year will again stand to win this chance of a lifetime—an all-expense paid opportunity to experience the Oscars red carpet live in 2017 when they answer a question that will be revealed during HBO’s live and exclusive broadcast of the 2016 Oscars on Monday at 9:30 a.m. Contest details are available via www.hboasia.com/oscars.

    Meanwhile, HBO’s live streaming will begin at 8 a.m. (with a prime time encore at 7 p.m.). The awards go live at 9:30 a.m.

    Janet Hsieh will be reporting live from Oscars on the network’s social media platforms

    Janet Hsieh will be reporting live from Oscars on the network’s social media platforms

    HBO Asia’s social media crew and Taiwanese-American host, Janet Hsieh, will be reporting live from the star-studded 2016 Oscars red carpet on the network’s social media platforms. And for the very first time, HBO Asia’s microsite (www.hboasia.com/oscars) will feature backstage interviews and web exclu- sive footage.

    Hosted by Chris Rock, the 88th Annual Academy Awards will be held at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. Additional Oscar presenters and performers recently announced include Morgan Freeman, John Legend, J.J. Abrams, Sacha Baron Cohen, Henry Cavill and Dave Grohl.

    Previously announced presenters and performers include: Patricia Arquette, Ryan Gosling, Margot Robbie,, Abraham Attah, Louis Gossett, Jr., Jason Segel, Cate Blanchett, Kevin Hart, Andy Serkis, Emily Blunt, Quincy Jones, Sarah Silverman, Louis C.K., Michael B. Jordan, J.K. Simmons, Steve Carell, Lady Gaga, Sam Smith, Priyanka Chopra, Byung-hun Lee, Charlize Theron, Common, Jared Leto, Jacob Tremblay, Russell Crowe, Rachel McAdams, Sofia Vergara, Benicio del Toro, Julianne Moore, Kerry Washington, Chris Evans, Olivia Munn, The Weeknd, Tina Fey, Dev Patel, Pharrell Williams, Jennifer Garner, Eddie Redmayne, Reese Witherspoon, Whoopi Goldberg, Daisy Ridle.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    1 Comment