• Southern Leyte gets P213.15M for classrooms


    MAASIN CITY: The national government has earmarked P213.15 million for the construction of 202 classrooms for public secondary schools in Southern Leyte province, in time for the full implementation of the K-to-12 program next year.

    The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) Southern Leyte Engineering District started the bidding process to ensure that these projects for 27 campuses will commence on August.

    “The target is to complete one-storey school buildings by September and the two-storey buildings by December 2015,” said DPWH District Engineer Ma. Margarita C. Junia, adding that the province got the biggest allocation for the building of learning facilities in the Eastern Visayas region this year.

    Of the 202 classrooms, 144 are in campuses under the coverage of the Department of Education (DepEd) Southern Leyte schools division and 144 for Maasin City division.

    In Maasin City, listed as recipients are Ibarra National High School, Manhilo National High School, Maasin Vocational High School, Libhu National High School, Maasin City National High School, Dongon National High School and San Rafael National High School.

    Outside the provincial capital, new classrooms will soon rise in the towns of San Juan, San Ricardo, Malitbog, Libagon, Tomas Oppus, Pintuyan, Hinundayan, Limasawa, Liloan, Macrohon, Hinunangan, Saint Bernard, Anahawan, Silago, Sogod, Bontoc and San Francisco.

    These projects are expected to boost the preparation of the province for next year’s full implementation of the Senior High School under the K-to-12 program.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.