Spielberg, Streisand to get Presidential Medal of Freedom


WASHINGTON D.C.: Movie mogul Steven Spielberg, singer-director Barbra Streisand and songwriter James Taylor are among the 17 people to be awarded a Presidential Medal of Freedom, the White House announced on Monday (Tuesday in Manila). “I look forward to presenting these 17 distinguished Americans with our nation’s highest civilian honor,” President Barack Obama said. “From public servants who helped us meet defining challenges of our time to artists who expanded our imaginations, from leaders who have made our union more perfect to athletes who have inspired millions of fans, these men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans,” he added. Among other entertainment stars to be honored are music producer Emilio Estefan and pop star Gloria Estefan, a Cuban American couple seen as trailblazers for being Spanish-language stars who successfully crossed over to the English-language market.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.