• SPMJ prepares awards for auto industry’s best CSR projects


    SPMJ prepares awards for automotive industry’s best CSR projects

    The next set of awards in the motoring industry will have nothing to do about the car, except that the awardees will be companies involved with the automobile.

    The Society of Philippine Motoring Journalists (SPMJ) announced recently that it is preparing to recognize projects implemented by companies in the motoring industry that have left an impact on the community, the environment and on people. Projects to conserve the environment, provide education opportunities, enhance livelihood skills and related projects on community development will be evaluated for the best efforts in Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR).

    SPMJ was founded by a group of motoring editors, TV hosts and producers and broadcast journalists in 2002. Last year, SPMJ opened its once exclusive roster of members to other distinguished members of the motoring media.

    In a recent meeting that discussed the project, SPMJ members appointed Pinky Concha Colmenares as president. She succeeds Ray Butch Gamboa, the organization’s first president and founding chairman. Gamboa, TV host, columnist and chairman/chief executive officer of Sunshine TV retains the position of founding chairman.

    Colmenares, the executive editor of Manila Bulletin, was formerly the paper’s motoring editor, a position she held for many years, which has gained her the respect of the auto industry.

    The other SPMJ founding members are Anjo Perez (Manila Times), Jenny Bleza (STV), Vernon Sarne (Top Gear Philippines), Brian Afuang (BusinessWorld), Ron delos Reyes (Auto Review), Popong Andolong (formerly of Business Mirror), Erle Sebastian (formerly of Mla. Bulletin), Dong Magsajo (formerly of Philippine Star) and Ardie Lopez (Philippine Daily Inquirer).


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.