Star Awards for Movies unfolds tonight


The Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) is all set to hold the 30th Star Awards for Movies this evening at the Solaire Hotel in Pasay City.

Expected to lend glitter at the awarding ceremonies are some of the best artists and craftsmen who got the PMPC voters’ nods for some 20 nominated categories, as well as a slew of talented performers in special production numbers.   Veteran director Al Quinn is at the helm of tonight’s grand presentation, under the production Tess Celestino’s Airtime Marketing Inc.

This year, the Star Awards for Movies is celebrating its pearl anniversary, a milestone that calls for the PMPC Dekada Awards to be given to the most notable achievers in Filipino film from 2003 to 2013, among them actors Judy Ann Santos, Eugene Domingo, Ai Ai delas Alas, Aga Muhlach, John Lloyd Cruz, Jericho Rosales, Dennis Trillo,  Piolo Pascual, and Baron Geisler; and film directors Joel Lamangan, Jose Javier Reyes, Maryo J. delos Reyes, Mark Meily, Olivia Lamasan, and Jerrold Tarog.

The stellar list will join the roster of past PMPC Dekada Awardees who were honored at the Star Awards for Movies’ 20th year. They are Nora Aunor, Vilma Santos, Sharon Cuneta, Christopher de Leon, Phillip Salvador, and Ricky Davao; and directors and Joel Lamangan, Marilou Diaz-Abaya and Butch Perez.

Also to be given out this evening are special awards, namely the Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Award for actor-thespian and academician Rustica Carpio; the Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa Likod ng Kamera Award for screenwriter Ricardo Lee and film director Peque Gallaga; while the recipient of the Darling of the Press Award will be voted from nominees KC Concepcion, Luis Manzano, Vicky Morales, Piolo Pascual, and Jerry Yap of the National Press Club.

Meanwhile, the following is the list of nominees for the major awards:

For Movie Actress of the Year: Bea Alonzo (Four Sisters And A Wedding), Nora Aunor (Ang Kuwento Ni Mabuti), Rustica Carpio (Ano Ang Kulay Ng Mga Nakalimutang Pangarap?), KC Concepcion (Shoot To Kill: Boy Golden), Angel Locsin (Four Sisters And A Wedding), Vilma Santos (Ekstra), and Lorna Tolentino (Burgos).

For Movie Actor of the Year: Dingdong Dantes (Dance Of The Steel Bars), Jorge Estregan Jr. (Shoot To Kill: Boy Golden), Vice Ganda (Girl Boy Bakla Tomboy), Jake Macapagal (Metro Manila), Robin Padilla (10,000 Hours), Piolo Pascual (On The Job), and Joel Torre (On The Job).

For Movie of the Year: 10,000 Hours (Philippine Film Studios, Viva Films, and N2 Productions), Dance of the Steel Bars (Portfolio Films and GMA Films), Four Sisters and a Wedding (Star Cinema), It Takes a Man and a Woman (Viva Films and Star Cinema), On the Job (Reality Entertainment and Star Cinema), and Shoot to Kill: Boy Golden (Scenema Concept International and Viva Films).

For Movie Director of the Year: Cesar Apolinario and Marnie Manicad (Dance Of The Steel Bars), Joyce Bernal (10,000 Hours), Cathy Garcia Molina (Four Sisters And A Wedding and It Takes A Man And A Woman), Erik Matti (On The Job), and Chito Roño (Shoot To Kill: Boy Golden).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.