Supreme Court declares ex-Tesda chief a nuisance candidate


The Supreme Court (SC) on Tuesday affirmed the disqualification of former Director General Augusto Syjuco Jr. of the Tehnical Skills and Development Authority (Tesda) from the May 2016 elections for being a nuisance candidate.


The SC had affirmed a Commission on Elections (Comelec) ruling that junked the candidacy of Syjuco, a former Iloilo congressman.

During an en banc session, the 15-man tribunal also upheld the non-registration and non-accreditation of five more party-list groups.

Among the disqualified as party-list groups were the United Toward Organic Development, Inc. (UTOD), Bantay Laban sa Kriminalidad (BALAK), Ang Kaliwat Partylist, Koalisyon at Aksyon Nag-iimpok para sa Ekonomiya at Gabay ng mga Organisasyon ng Sambayanang May Yamang Oras [1-KANEGOSYO] and the Kapisanan ng mga Netizens sa Filipinas, Inc.

Fifteen presidential candidates were earlier disqualified by the High Court after they were also declared as nuisance candidates.

They were Ranulfo Feliciano, Maria Aurora Marcos, Simeon de Castro, Dante Valencia, Rodel Mancilla, Pedrito Diaz Tagle, Rizalito David, Elly Pamatong, Juanita Trocenio, Ephraim Defino, Buenafe Briggs, Antonio Obiña, Luisito Falcon, Camilo Sabio and Vetellano Acosta.

For Vice President, Teodulo Malangen was also declared a nuisance candidate.

For senator, declared nuisances were Efren Bernabe Cadiz, Mary Lou Estrada, Amay Bisaya nee Roberto Gloria Reyes, Roger Alim Rodriguez and Sixto Lagare.

The SC also dismissed petitions of several party-list groups for the May 2016 polls since the Comelec did not commit grave abuse of discretion, contrary to their alegation.

These are Samahang Magbabasura Inc., Abante Bicol Oragon-Philippines Inc, Peace Advocates and Reformation of Democratic System Inc., Alliance of Cavite Land Reform Tenant Association Inc., 1st Kabagis, Movement Against Dynasty, Bukluran ng Malayang Mamamayan at Kawal sa Kuta Bonifacio, Aagapay sa mga Bata at Taong Kapus-Palad, Bumabagang Sigaw ng Lahing Kayumanggi Kalayaan sa Kahirapan, Ang Laban ng Indiginong Pilipino and Kampilan ng Lakan Inc.

Motions for reconsideration of nuisance presidential candidate Elly Velez Pamatong were also denied, along with party-list Mindanao Alliance for Reforms and Peoples Movement for Democratic Governance Inc.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.