All systems go for star-studded Eddys movie awards


A star-studded program is ready to go on stage at the Kia Theater for the first ever Entertainment Editors’ Awards for Movies, dubbed The Eddys, on Sunday, July 9.

Hosted by father and son Edu and Luis Manzano — another first in their respective careers as sought-after emcees in Philippine showbiz — a glittering roster of artists will provide the production numbers throughout the exciting evening, dedicated to honoring the best creative minds and talents in the movie industry.

Top TV and movie love team James Reid and Nadine Lustre will open the show, with Ella Cruz and Julian Trono, and Yassi Pressman and Arjo Atayde taking prime spots with their respective musical presentations.

A must-see production number is headed by singer-songwriter Ogie Alcasid, Concert King Martin Nievera and today’s hottest female artists Morissette Amon and Klarisse in a tribute to late OPM legend Willy Cruz.

The roster of celebrities who will present the various awards include top-caliber and award-winning actor and actress Christopher de Leon and Lorna Tolentino; rising young stars AJ Muhlach and Phoebe Walker; Empoy Marquez and Alessandra de Rossi [of the upcoming movie "Kita Kita];” beautiful couple Sarah Lahbati and Richard Gutierrez [w[who currently stars in the top-rating ABS-CBN series, "La Luna Sangre”]Edward Barber and Maymay Entrata; JC Santos and Bela Padilla; popular love team Elmo Magalona and Janella Salvador [of [of Star Cinema’s teen horror "Bloody Crayons”]d primetime drama queens Cristine Reyes and Jodi Sta. Maria, among many others.

Special awards will be handed out to Director Lav Diaz [Manny[Manny Pichel Award]ost/columnist Boy Abunda [Joe Q[Joe Quirino Award]Regal Films matriarch Lily Monteverde [Produ[Producer of the Year]

Written by Nash Torres and directed by Arnel Natividad, the Eddys is a joint production of Viva Live and ABS-CBN.

The Eddys is mounted by the Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd), a non-stock, non-profit organization of entertainment editors from the country’s top broadsheets and tabloids.

The Eddys is the group’s way of encouraging Filipino filmmakers, producers, writers, actors and other allied artists in the Philippine movie industry to continue pursuing their passion of creating films that mirror the realities of our society.

SPEED is comprised of Isah Red of The Manila Standard; Eugene Asis of People’s Journal; Jojo Panaligan of The Manila Bulletin; Ian Farinas of People’s Tonight; Salve Asis of Pilipino Star Ngayon/Pang Masa; Gie Trillana of Malaya Business Insight; Dondon Sermino of Abante; Tessa Mauricio-Arriola of The Manila Times; Dindo Balares of Balita; Dinah Ventura of The Daily Tribune; Rito Asilo of Philippine Daily Inquirer; Ervin Santiago of Bandera; Maricris Nicasio of Hataw; Jerry Olea of Abante Tonite; Rohn Romulo of People’s Balita; and adviser Nestor Cuartero of Tempo.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.