• Talaandig SLT to receive Gawad CCP award


    The Talaandig School of Living Tradition (SLT), part of the Schools of Living Traditions funded by the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, will be conferred the Gawad CCP Award on September 17, 7 p.m. at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (Main Theater).

    The Talaandig School of Living Tradition in Bukidnon, established the 1990s, is among the first SLTs instituted in the country. It serves as a haven for pre-school children who learn reading, writing and arithmetic alongside traditional Talaandig values and mythologies, dance techniques, and music. The knowledge on the Talaandig people including their roots and identity are disseminated in the form of entertainment such as storytelling, chanting, music and instrument playing.

    The Gawad CCP Para sa Sining, which is given every three years, is the highest award artists or groups of artists who have consistently produced outstanding works, enriched the development of their art form. The award is also given to cultural workers, who through their works in research, curatorship and administration, have helped to develop and enrich Philippine art.

    Talaandig SLT is among the 13 awardees identified by the CCP. Joining the roster are Denisa Reyes for Dance; Fides Cuyugan Asensio for Music; Antonio Mabesa for Theater; Roberto Chabet for Visual Arts; Ricardo Lee for Literature; Nora Aunor for Film and Broadcast Arts; Paulo Alcazaren for Architecture; Ben Farrales for Design; Leoncio Deriada, Talaandig School of Living Traditions, Armida Siguion-Reyna, and Basilio Esteban Villaruz. The Missionary Society of St. Columban will receive the Tanging Parangal.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.