Taoid to grace Saluka Festival in Capul Island


The National Commission for Culture and the Arts’  (NCCA) Taoid, or the National Heritage Month, will be launched at Capul Island, Samar on July 29, in line with the province’s celebration of Saluka festival.

There will be simultaneous heritage clinics that will be conducted by various committees of NCCA’s Subcommission on Cultural Heritage. These committees include Archives, Galleries, Historical Research, Libraries and Information Services, Monuments and Sites, and Museums.

Samar holds important heritage sites and structures such as the Saint Michael Parish Church which is built in the 17th century and the 19th century cobblestone watchtower in Almuraya Fortress Ruins.

Other cultural sites include the Muralla, The Grand Canyon and Pergola. Muralla is a cobblestone perimeter fence built during the Spanish era that covers a cemetery while the Grand Canyon is a manmade space excavated in 1913 passing the Tumagingting Hill. Pergola is a cobblestone arc built in 1894 used as passageway to the defunct “Casa Tribunal.”

Taoid rounds the Philippines and was also launched in different provinces and cities such as Batanes last April 10; Baguio City last May 17; Sarangani last May 24 for the Sarangani Bay Festival; and in Cebu City last May 31 for the Gabii sa Kabilin. Its final leg of opening will be held in Apayao this October 8.

Since the signing of Proclamation 439 on August 11, 2003, declaring the month of May as National Heritage Month “in recognition of the need to create among the people a consciousness, respect, and pride for the legacies of Filipino cultural history, and love of country,” the whole country is given a chance to highlight and appreciate its cultural treasures. It is also an occasion to raise awareness on their significance.

For this year, Taoid is celebrated year-long in various provinces in the country.The steering committee is composed of Regalado Trota Jose, head of SCH and the National Committee on Archives; Imelda Loste, head of the National Committee on Art Galleries; Dr. Maria Nela Florendo, head of the National Committee on Historical Research; Antonio M. Santos, head of the National Committee on Libraries and Information Service; Dr. Jaime Laya, head of the National Committee on Monuments and Sites; and Dr. Antonio Julian Montalvan, head of the National Committee on Museums. The NCCA is led by chairman Felipe de Leon Jr. and Executive Director Emelita Almosara.



Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.