• Teng bags top honors in Collegiate Awards


    La Salle star Jeron Teng earned top honors in the 2013 Collegiate Basketball Awards presented by the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP)-National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Press Corps and Smart on Sunday at the Saisaki-Kamayan Edsa in Greenhills, San Juan City.

    Teng, whose excellent play powered the Green Archers to the UAAP championship this season, captured the Smart Player of the Year in the annual gathering organized by scribes from national broadsheets, tabloids and websites covering the collegiate basketball beat.

    Only in his sophomore year, Teng was cited not only for his outstanding play but also for his sportsmanship and classy demeanor on and off the court that made him a role model to many young players.

    “Jeron is there to to motivate his teammates. I also like his mentality in the end game where he takes it hard to the basket,” La Salle coach Juno Sauler said of his top gunner.

    Sauler shared the spotlight in the event as La Salle’s first-year mentor won the UAAP Coach of the Year honor, while San Beda tactician Boyet Fernandez copped the same award in the NCAA for steering the Lions to a fourth straight crown.

    Teng also earned a spot in the Collegiate Mythical Team along with Far Eastern University’s Terrence Romeo, Letran’s Raymond Almazan, San Beda’s Ola Adeogun and National University’s Bobby Ray Parks.

    Other La Salle and San Beda players were feted in the event backed by by Smart Sports, Accel 3XV1, Gatorade, Meralco, Talk ‘N Text, Filoil Flying V, UAAP Season 76 host Adamson, NCAA Season 89 host College of St. Benilde and the Philippine Sportswriters Association.

    Arnold Van Opstal and Art dela Cruz captured the Pivotal Player citations, Jason Perkins and Baser Amer the Impact Player awards, while the Super Senior went to San Beda’s Rome dela Rosa, University of Santo Tomas’ Jeric Teng and FEU’s RR Garcia.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.