• Three sports personalities get lifetime achievement awards


    THREE great personalities whose contributions to Philippine sports have been immense will be recognized with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) at the Centennial Hall of the Manila Hotel on January 25.

    Legendary cager Carlos “Caloy” Loyzaga, former International Olympic Committee (IOC) representative to the country Francisco “Frank” Elizalde, and one-time FIBA-Asia secretary-general Mauricio “Moying” Martelino are the recipients of the special award.

    It will be the first time in three years the PSA is handing out the prominent award after honoring coaching genius Virgilio “Baby” Dalupan and boxing referee Carlos Padilla with the same title in 2011.

    To be conferred with the prestigious Athlete of the Year award during the formal rite is Gilas Pilipinas following its glowing silver medal finish in the FIBA-Asia Men’s Championship here last year.

    Besides the Athlete of the Year and Lifetime Achievement Award, also to be handed out by the PSA are the President’s Award to pool players Rubilen Amit, Dennis Orcollo and Lee Van Corteza, and tae kwon do jin Mikeala Calamba, executive of the Year to Manny V. Pangilinan, National Sports Association of the Year to the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP), Mr. Football to Stephan Schrock, Ms Volleyball to Abigail Marano and Alyssa Valdez, Sixth Man Award to Filipino basketball fans, and major awards to 17 personalities.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.