Tigers begin second round campaign in UAAP table tennis


Top seed University of Santo Tomas (UST) Growling Tigers and De La Salle University (DLSU) Lady Archers will open their second round campaign in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Season 79 table tennis tournament on Saturday at the Blue Eagle Gym in Quezon City.

“The performance of the UST men’s table tennis team in the first round of UAAP Season 79 was very good. In preparation for the second round, the team have done some minor tactical adjustments,” said UST head coach Jackson Que in a text message on Friday.

Currently holding a 7-0 win-loss card, the UST Tigers hacked out a 3-0 victory against the University of the East (UE) Red Warriors, University of the Philippines (UP) Fighting Maroons, Far Eastern University (FEU) Tamaraws, De La Salle University (DLSU) Green Archers, Adamson University (AdU) Soaring Falcons, and Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) Blue Eagles. They also survived second seed National University (NU) Bulldogs, 3-2.

“The UST men’s team doesn’t expect anything in the second round. We will remain focused and try our best to win every game,” Que added.

Defending champions La Salle Green Archers are No.6 with a 3-4 win-loss card.

The Green Archers missed the service of two-time Most Valuable Player Walden Ledesma, Jethro Yatco, brothers Francis and Edmund Garganian who migrated to the United States of America, and former Rookie of the Year Carlo Mateo who transferred to another school.

In the women’s play, two-peat champions La Salle Lady Archers extended its winning streak to 23 after sweeping the first round of eliminations.

The Lady Archers blanked the UP Lady Maroons, Adamson Lady Falcons, UE Lady Warriors, and Ateneo Lady Eagles, 3-0. They also carved out a 3-1 win against the NU Lady Bulldogs, and edged past second and third seed FEU Lady Tamaraws and UST Tigresses, 3-2, respectively.

The UST Tigers will battle the UE Red Warriors, while the La Salle Lady Archers will face the UST Tigresses at 8 a.m.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.