TMTC student shines at nat’l swim meet


Ilyssa Mariella Legaspi

The Manila Times College of Subic standout Ilyssa Mariella Legaspi led the list of gold medalists in the 70th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) Leg Series dubbed as the 2014 Sen. Nikki Coseteng National Swimming Championships held recently at the Diliman Preparatory School in Quezon City.

Legaspi, a Grade 8 student, bagged four gold and one silver medals in the event participated by more than 600 swimmers. She dominated the girls’ 50-meter breaststroke (43.50), 50m butterfly (38.50), 50m freestyle (35.00) and 50m backstroke (41.00) and then placed second in the 100m individual medley (1:30.43).

“We’re happy to see a swimmer from The Manila Times College of Subic competing in our monthly competition. We’re grateful with the support given by The Manila Times owner, Dr. Dante Ang, and we’re looking forward to more swimmers from their school to participate in our next competitions,” PSL President Susan Papa said.

“We’ll be monitoring her progress. That’s our goal in staging competitions like this. We want them to slowly improve in their craft and hone them for future big tournaments,” she added.

Joining Legaspi in the limelight were the other gold medal winners in the girls’ division Janine Consul, Chelsea Pastolero, Quantruelle Wangkay, Hannah Lindsay Salazar, Nicole Camacho, Mikyla Guzman, Samantha Inkee, Maxine Dalmacio, Herra Kim, Angela Torrico, Emilya Torres, Julliana Cabrera, Allyza Palermo, Lea de Jesus, Joanna Cervas, Aya Beatrize Pugay, Mara Cruz, Claire Dionsay, Xen De Guzman, Peach Paraiso, Lucia Arenas, Felicity Sapla, Sofia Estrada, Frances Sanros, Bernadine Ubina, Erin Ramos, Niel Mendoza, Patricia Aguilar, Lyza Bernal, Shella Ocampo, Jasmine Esguerra, Iyssa Legaspi, Patricia Perillo, Erika Abandiano, Mary Christine Llorente, Imari Takahashi, Yasmine De Jesus, Rollen Joy and Rhoda Trisha Darnayla.

The gold medalists in the boys’ class were Rafael Lentejas 3rd, Joey Del Rosario, Yuri Acidre, John Pyles, Morie Pabalan, Joshua Camacho, Lee Grant Cabral, Ethan Gabriel, Rodjohn Cuasay, Nathan Adalin, Phillip Princillo, Karl Pastoril, Paris Te, Jose, Juan Tayag, Michael Abeleda, Joseph Cayago, Terrence Delvo, Jed Gabriel Pilar, Julio Garcia, Stephen Guzman, Andre Ocampo, Arden Gonzales, James Hutchings, Turdy Pineda, Nigel Romey, Edgar Roberto, Gabriel Reyes, Jett Orinoco, Kennard Bondal, Jan Mendoza, Jericho Tubalado, Alexis Manarin, Aeron Sayno, John Vargas, Jamil Creado, John Sigue, Leonardo Alaan, Carl Condalor, Lance Catotocan, Sean Ocampo, David Dela Yola, Joshua Cantor, Alfred Conda, Aron Roney, Jury Salaya, Miguel Cancio, Jyreas Juane and Christian Lozano.

“In the swimmers attendance, I see the success of fully democratizing swimming soon. I see a lot of coaches, parents and swimmers not allowing themselves to be bullied,” Papa said.

She noted that unlike the Philippine Olympic Committee-National Sports Association that only allows its members to compete in select events, the PSL “is open to all” and does not collect membership fees.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.