• Top seeds win 2 titles in Iloilo leg of Head Jr. tennis



    No. 1 Luke Alquin Flores and Toni Raymundo captured two titles each in the Iloilo leg of the 16th Head 2014 Junior satellite circuit national tennis annual age-group tournament at the Lapaz tennis courts in Iloilo City on Saturday.

    Flores dominated Fernando Arguelles in the boys’ singles finals of 18-under class, 6-1, 6-4, to clinch the title and then defeated Lorenzo Angelo Legaspi in the finals of boys’ singles 16-under division, 6-3, 6-2, for his second title.

    Raymundo, who is also the top player in her age group, took the girls’ 18-under singles class crown after winning over Mary Grace Zapanta in the finals, 6-2, 6-0. She whipped Zapanta also in the finals of girls’ singles 16-under class, 6-4, 6-2, for her second crown.

    In other results, No. 1 Joshua Angelo Regino blanked Matthew Alquin Flores in the boys’ singles 14-under class, 6-3 6-3, to bag the crown, and Angelo Meijia trounced Marben Erl Mosquera in the 12-under boys singles finals, 8-6 6-3, to clinch the title.

    Meijia also won the unisex 10-under crown by beating Pete Andre Rodriguez in the championship round, 6-2 5-7 6-2.




    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.