Trackster Mangsat breaks steeplechase record in PNG


Baguio City’s Jessa Mangsat broke the national record in winning the women’s 3,000-meter steeplechase gold medal of the 2013 Philippine Olympic Committee-Philippine Sports Commission (POC-PSC) Philippine National Games athletics competitions on Tuesday at the Philsports track oval in Pasig City.

Mangsat posted 11 minutes and 25.70 seconds to erase the 11:28.54 old mark of Jean Palencia registered in the 2009 University Athletic Association of the Philippines athletics event in Manila. Jennismyll Mabunga settled for silver with a time of 11:43.15 while Flordeliza Donos took the bronze in 11:58.90.

Laos Southeast Asian Games gold medalist Rosie Villarito, Katherine Kay Santos and Christopher Ulboc also made their presence felt by winning their respective events.

Villarito dominated the women’s javelin throw with a 48.55-meter output while Santos reigned supreme in the women’s long jump y virtue of her 5.66-meter showing. Ulboc, for his part, topped the men’s 3,000m steeplechase in 9:05.65.

In women’s tae kwon do, national team member Mary Anjelay Pelaez copped the gold medal in the finweight division while Chriza Alombro got the silver, and Patricia Sembrano and Cajoleen Vicente grabbed one bronze each.

Other winners are Winlove dela Cerna (gold), Isabelle Mora (silver), Lyra Tindoc (bronze) and Camille Aendili (bronze) in flyweight; and Reign Charm Ragutana (gold), Paula Amon (silver), Zhayel Magdamit (bronze) and Jessica Castil (bronze) in middleweight.

In powerlifting, world championships gold medalist Regie Ramirez ruled the boys’ 59kg as he scored 56.50 in squat, 162.5 in bench press and 87.5 in deadlift for a total of 220 kilos.

Also winning gold medals in their weight classes are Jayson Ereso (boys’ 53kg), Isiah de Villa (boys’ 66kg), Aljon Cifra (boys’ 74-83kg), Aldrin Caparas (boys’ 93-100kg), Isaac Cortes (men’s open 59kg), Nilo dela Cena (men’s open 74kg), Reneo Dio (men’s open 83kg), Arwell Babiera (men’s open 93kg) and Jim Buen (men’s open 105-120kg).

In pencak silat, Lhea Garde, Joselle Truza and Beberly Mahusay won the semi-regu (team) women’s category with 429 points over second placers Xyrine Diocos, Rose Mary Ann Rafa and Karen Rojo (399), and third placers Cherry May Regalado, Rossabella Inamarga and Rogelyn Ibutnande (397).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.