• UAAP women’s volley tourney begins Sunday


    The women’s volleyball competitions of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Season 76 will begin on Sunday at the Araneta Coliseum with four teams aiming to jumpstart their bids on a high note.

    Last year’s runner-up Ateneo de Manila University battles National University (NU) at 2 p.m. while defending champion De La Salle University takes on Adamson University at 4 p.m.

    Clashing in the men’s division are last year’s second-placer Far Eastern University (FEU) and Adamson University at 8:30 a.m. and reigning titlist NU and Season 75 third-placer La Salle at 10 a.m.

    La Salle will be gunning for its fourth straight women’s title with Season 75 co-Most Valuable Players Abigail Maraño and Ara Galang, setters Kim Fajardo and Mika Esperanza, Cyd Demecillo and Mika Reyes leading the Lady Spikers.

    Adamson, for its part, will have Sheila Pineda, Marleen Cortel, Faye Guevara, Amanda Villanueva and Mayette Zapanta in the front line.

    Ateneo, on the other hand, will be missing Fille Cainglet, Dzi Gervacio, Gretchen Ho, Jem Ferrer and Aillysse Nacachi, who have consumed their playing years. But Alyssa Valdez and the rest of the Lady Eagles are all set after weeks of rigid training in Thailand.

    The NU Lady Bulldogs will be powered by the towering Santiago sisters—Dindin and Jaja. Season 75 Rookie of the Year Aiko Urdas, Mina Aganon, Myla Pablo and Ivy Perez are also in the lineup.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.