UE faces La Salle in women’s hoops semis


The University of the East (UE) Lady Warriors will battle second seed De La Salle University (DLSU) Lady Archers in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) women’s basketball stepladder semifinals on Wednesday at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City.

The La Salle Lady Archers closed the elimination round with an 11-3 win-loss record, while the Lady Warriors survived fourth seed Adamson University (AdU) Lady Falcons last Saturday, 48-45.

UE dominated under the basket, tallying 52 rebounds against Adamson’s 47. The red-and-white cagers also took advantage of the Lady Falcons’ 27 turnovers to score 20 points.

Despite collapsing in the last five minutes of the match, the Lady Warriors managed to limit the Lady Falcons to 16 baskets out of 67 attempts.

“The experience that we had against Adamson is really a good one because I saw that the players really fought hard and it is our first time to win a crucial game. Usually, we lose when we experience a crucial match. So that experience, it is a big credit for us especially when we again encounter a crucial game. They already know what to do,” said UE head coach Aileen Lebornio.

Eunique Chan led UE with a double-double outing of 11 points and 11 rebounds, while Ruthlaine Tacula added 11 more markers. Jonalyn Lacson and Jamie Alcoy led Adamson with 10 points apiece.

“We have a lot to adjust because the last time we met, they (La Salle) beat us with their outside shooting. We will start adjusting our defense. We really have to prepare, especially they already have the (twice-to-beat) advantage. So I think, my team, my players will not give up, they will give a good fight,” Lebornio added.

During their second round meeting on November 5, the La Salle Lady Archers upset the Lady Warriors, 70-65.

Khate Castillo drained five treys out of her 11 attempts for La Salle. She hit her last three-pointer with 1:29 minutes remaining in the match, 67-61.

The clash between the Lady Warriors and the Lady Archers will start at 12:00 p.m.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.