UP battles La Salle in UAAP women’s volley


UNIVERSITY of the Philippines (UP) hopes to hurdle its first acid test against De La Salle University in a showdown for early lead in the University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Season 78 women’s volleyball tournament at the Philsports Arena in Pasig City.

The UP-La Salle game is at 2 p.m. while Adamson University hopes to join the first game winner on top at 2-0 when it battles National University at 4 p.m.

With veterans Nicole Tiamzon, Kathy Bersola and Marian Buitre and skilled rookies Isa Molde, Justine Dorog and Diana Carlos, the Lady Maroons have high hopes to make it to the Final Four.

UP defeated a vastly improved University of the East, 25-20, 25-13, 25-21, in last Sunday’s opener.

A regular Final Four fixture, Lady Maroons coach Jerry Yee stressed the need for his novice players to make adjustments in their game that is if the Diliman-based spikers want to pull off an early reversal.

“Against La Salle, hindi puwede kaming maraming service errors and we have to execute well,” said Yee.

The Lady Spikers, meanwhile, proved that they are still one of the league’s powerhouse teams.

La Salle, with former Most Valuable Player Ara Galang back, made her debut with her team posting a 29-27, 25-23, 25-20 victory over Far Eastern University on Wednesday.

Besides Galang, who had 10 points and five digs in her first game after recovering from a knee injury, Mika Reyes, Carol Cerveza, Majoy Baron, Christine Soyud and rookie May Luna also delivered for the Lady Spikers.

“We have to lessen our errors,” said La Salle assistant coach Benson Bocboc.

The Lady Falcons opened their campaign by notching a narrow 25-22, 25-21, 20-25, 28-30, 16-14 win over University of Santo Tomas last Wednesday, while the Lady Bulldogs hope to rebound from a 21-25, 19-25, 14-25 loss to defending champion Ateneo in the opener.

Meanwhile, men’s titleholder Ateneo and FEU will dispute the solo lead at 10 a.m., right after Adamson and UE take on the floor at 8 a.m.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.