UP rules UAAP ballroom dance tilt


University of the Philippines (UP) Ballroom Formation Team bagged twin titles in the first University Athletic Association of the Philippines (UAAP) Ballroom Formation Dance Competition at the Quadricentennial Pavilion Arena of t he University of Sto. Tomas (UST) on Saturday.

UP garnered the scores of 92.48 and 94.3 in Latin American Dance and Standard Ballroom Dance categories, respectively.

“We’re so happy and thankful because our journey going here was not easy. We experienced several hardships and sacrifices. Everything was worth it since we never gave up despite the challenges. We’re very thankful and honored,” said Dannah Joyce Piol, UP’s captain for the standard ballroom dance.

Some of the members of the UP Ballroom Formation Team came from UP Pep Squad, UP Filipiniana, and UP Streetdance and only a few were really from UP Dancesport. The UP Ballroom Formation Team managed to train only for a month, according to JP Decena, UP’s acting head coach for Latin American Dance.

“We’re already thinking of what we will do next year. UP will always offer something new. If they were surprised today, they will be more surprised next year,” Decena added.

The UST Sinag Ballroom Dance Company snatched both first runner-up finishes in Standard Ballroom Dance with the scores of 91.66 and in Latin American Dance with 92.1.

University of the East Warrior Dancesport Team with 84.42 finished second in Latin American Dance while De La Salle University (DLSU) Dancesport Blitz with 87, finished third.

The other participants in the demonstration sport competition were Adamson University, Ateneo de Manila University, Far Eastern University, and National University.

Arthur Eroles, Ednah Ledesma, Joel Ocsena, Reggie Perico, and Crisaldo Rendon completed the panel of adjudicators while Arie Martinez and Julius Saranza served as the penalty judges.

Lowell Tan took the position of the UAAP Commissioner for Ballroom Formation Dance.

Last season’s host UP also awarded the over-all championship trophies to UST and DLSU for the juniors and seniors division, respectively.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.