UST National Writers Workshop names 2016 fellows


The University of Santo Tomas Center for Creative Writing and Literary Studies (UST CCWLS) has announced 12 Fellows for its annual National Writers Workshop to be held from July 24 to 30 2016 at Ridgewood Residence Hotel in Baguio City.

Cutting across two languages and three genres, the UST National Writers Workshop 2016 fellows come from eight universities.

For fiction in English, the fellows are Maria Tanya P. Cruz (UST) and Francis Paolo M. Quina (UP Diliman). Maria Nikka P. Policarpio (UST) and Eric John B. Villena (Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan) meanwhile are the fellows for fiction in Filipino.

For poetry in English, the fellows are Paul M. Jerusalem (Yale-National University of Singapore) and Timothy F. Ong (Ateneo de Manila/UP Diliman), and for poetry in Filipino, the fellows are Jasper Emmanuel Y. Arcalas (UST) and Vanessa Anne Joice T. Haro (Southern Luzon State University).

Fellows for creative non-fiction in English are John Patrick I. Allanegui (Ateneo de Manila) and Jennie Arado (UP Mindanao), and for creative non-fiction in Filipino, Giselle R. Dela Cruz (UST) and Rhea B. Gulin (Philippine Normal University).

The senior guest panelists for this year’s workshop are UP University Professor Emeritus Gémino H. Abad and Philippine High School for the Arts Director and UST alumnus V.E. Carmelo Nadera, Jr. Their participation is made possible through the sponsorship of the Varsitarian.

Workshop Director is Assistant Director of the UST CCWLS Ralph Semino Galán, and Workshop Coordinator is UST CCWLS Resident Fellow Chuckberry J. Pascual. The rest of the teaching panel is composed of Director of the USTCCWLS Cristina Pantoja Hidalgo, Augusto Antonio A. Aguila, Joyce Arriola, Ma. Ailil B. Alvarez, Mar Anthony Simon Dela Cruz, Joselito D. Delos Reyes, Dawn Laurente Marfil, Ned Parfan, John Jack G. Wigley, and Joselito B. Zulueta.

Fellows are requested to get in touch with the Workshop Coordinator through (02)406-1611 loc. 8281.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.