Vietnam is top winner at World Premiere Filmfest 2016



Vietnam’s entry to the main competition of this year’s World Premiere Film Festival romped away with the festival grand prize.

Directed by Dinh Tuan Vu, Yen’s Life was also declared Best Picture, besting other entries including the Philippines’ The Daughters of the Three Tailed Banner by Gutierrez “Teng” Mangansakan 2nd.

Adding to Vietnam’s big win this year is its Country of Honor award.

Meanwhile, June Lojong of Malaysia won Best Actress for the film Redha, while Israel Elijalde of Spain was Best Actor for the film Love Above All Things.

In the Filipino New Cinema Section, the biggest winner was Ringgo, The Dogshooter directed by Rhayan Carlos which, although proclaimed as Second Best Picture (Best Picture was “EDSA”) only, won Best Actress for Janice de Belen, Best Actor for Sandino Martin and Best Screenplay for Ricky Lee.

Special Jury Prize went to the documentary Curiosity, Adventure and Love directed by Sunshine Licgauco de Leon. EDSA, directed by Alvin Yapan, won three technical awards: Best Cinematography for Ronald Rebutica, Best Ediing for Benjamin Tolentino and Best
Sound Engineering for Corrine de San Jose.

France’s film entry The Storm Inside won Best Film in the Intercontinental Section of the festival. Xiadong Guo of China’s Pleasure Love earned the best Male Performance, while Best Female Performance went to Marina Fois of France’s The Storm Inside. Belgium’s Parasol won for Technical Achievement.

In the “ASEAN Skies Section,” Beast from Philippines and Australia won Best Film, while Laut from the Philippines got the Special Jury Prize. Best Female Performance was won by Angela Barotia in the Philippine-USA entry Remittance while Best Male Performance went to Chad McKinney of Beast from the Philippine- Australian collaboration.

The awarding ceremony was held at the Cinematheque tent venue of the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) along Kalaw St, Manila City. Hosts were Jeremy Domingo and Issa Litton.

Here’s the list of winners for the Main Competition and Filipino New Cinema categories
Main competition:

Grand Festival Prize – Yen’s Life (Vietnam); Grand Jury Prize – Daughters of the Three Tailed Banner (Philippines); Technical Grand Prize – Love Above All Things (Spain); Best Actress – June Lojong, Redha (Malaysia)

Special Jury Prize (Direction) – Camille Fontaine, By Accident (France); Best Actor – Israel Elejalde, Love Above All Things; Best Artistic Contribution – Daughters of the Three Tailed Banner; Best Ensemble Performance – By Accident; Special Festival Prize for its Universal Social Values – Redha

Filipino New Cinema

Best Picture – Alvin Yapan, EDSA; Second Best Picture – Ringgo: The Dog-Shooter; Special Jury Prize – Curiosity, Adventure and Love; Special Jury Prize (contribution to Philippine Cinema) – Mel Chionglo, Iadya Mo Kami; Best Actress – Janice de Belen, Ringgo: The Dog-Shooter; Best Actor – Sandino Martin, Ringgo: The Dog-Shooter; Special Jury Prize for Best Acting Ensemble – EDSA; Best Screenplay – Ricky Lee, Ringgo: The Dog-Shooter; Best Cinematography – Ronald Rebutica, EDSA; Best Editing – Benjamin Tolentino, EDSA; Best Musical Score – Emerzon Texon, Iadya Mo Kami; Best Sound Engineering – Corinne De San Jose, EDSA; Best Production Design – Edgar Martin Littaua, Iadya Mo Kami


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.