Villages in 2 Rizal towns waterless March 15-18


SEVERAL barangay (villages) in the municipalities of San Mateo and Rodriguez (formerly Montalban) in Rizal province will be without water for three days beginning 10 p.m. of March 15 to 10 p.m. of March 18 as East Zone concessionaire Manila Water undertakes its seismic retrofitting project.

The project is part of Manila Water’s natural calamity mitigation plan that will ensure reliability of water services to thousands of residents in the zone during natural calamities such as earthquakes.

Marang Road in Barangay Maly and Villa San Mateo I in Barangay Guitnangbayan Uno in San Mateo, as well as Hillside and Cortijos subdivisions in Barangay San Rafael in Rodriguez will have to endure 72 waterless hours as the conces-sionaire begins to install 11 seismic joints at three major points along the 1.3 meter-diameter pipe that crosses the West Valley Fault.

Other barangay in Rodriguez and San Mateo and several barangay in neighboring Marikina City (Metro Manila) will also be affected and experience up to 12 hours of water service interruption daily from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. from March 16 to 18.

The affected villages in Rodriguez are San Rafael, Geronimo, San Isidro, Burgos, Balite, San Jose, Manggahan and Rosario.

Those affected in San Mateo are Maly, Ampid 1, Ampid 2, Banaba, Guitnangbayan 1, Guitnangbayan 2, Dulong Bayan 1, Dulong Bayan 2, Santo Niño, Silangan, Santa Ana, Malanday, Gulod Malaya and Guinayang.

In Marikina City, the affected villages are Concepcion Uno, Concepcion Dos, Fortune, Nangka, Marikina Heights, Parang and Tumana.

Residents in all the affected barangay are advised to store enough water to supply their needs during the interruption period.

Manila Water has readied its water supply augmentation plan, which includes installation of static tanks and provision of water delivery trucks to provide water supply to customers of the affected areas while the project is being implemented.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.