• Villar richest, Mariano poorest
    among Duterte officials


    PUBLIC Works Secretary Mark Villar is the richest Cabinet member of President Rodrigo Duterte, based on his 2016 Statement of Assets, Liabilities, and Net worth (SALNs) provided by Malacañang on Thursday.

    Villar listed a net worth of P1.41 billion in assets and about P15 million in liabilities as of December 2016.

    His assets include at least four condominiums and three lots with houses amounting to a total of P135 million. The remaining P1.29 billion in “other real and personal properties” were not specified.

    Agrarian Reform Secretary Rafael Mariano, who did not declare any real property as of December 2016, remains at the bottom with a net worth of P273,692.58. His assets only include his clothing of around P35,000 and cash in bank of P238,629.58.

    The second richest Cabinet member is the President’s long-time friend and Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez 3rd with declared net worth of P351.9 million while Information and Technology Secretary Rodolfo Salalima is third with P305 million declared in his SALN.

    Other Cabinet officials with net worth in the nine figures are Transportation Secretary Arthur Tugade (P302 million), Energy Secretary Alfonso Cusi (P163 million), Presidential Communications Secretary Martin Andanar (P152 million) and Socioeconomic Planning Secretary Ernesto Pernia (105 million).

    The SALNs of the other Duterte Cabinet officials are:

    Foreign Affairs Secretary Alan Peter Cayetano, P55 million;
    Trade Secretary Ramon Lopez, P50.5 million;
    Tourism Secretary Wanda Teo, P44.9 million;
    Jesus Dureza, presidential adviser on the peace process, P40 million;
    Justice Secretary Vitaliano Aguirre 2nd, P37.6 million;
    Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel Piñol, P25.6 million;
    National Security Adviser Hermogenes Esperon, P22.3 million;
    Budget Secretary Benjamin Diokno, P19.8 million;
    National Intelligence Coordinating Agency Chief Alex Monteagudo, P16.5 million;
    Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello 3rd, P15.5 million;
    Interior and Local Government officer-in-charge Catalino Cuy, P14.7 million;
    National Commission on Muslim Filipinos head Yasmin Lao, P13.9 million;
    Acting head of Presidential Management Staff Ferdinand Cui Jr., P7.98 milion;
    Science Secretary Fortunato de la Peña, P75 million;
    Education Secretary Leonor Briones, P4.39 million;
    Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana, P3.7 million;
    Social Welfare Secretary Judy Taguiwalo, P1.97 million;
    Health Secretary Paulyn Ubial, P1.2 million; and
    National Anti-Poverty Commission Secretary Liza Maza, P273,629.58.

    Meanwhile, the SALNs of Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea, Cabinet Secretary Leoncio Evasco Jr, Chief Presidential Legal Counsel Salvador Panelo, Special Assistant to the President Christopher “Bong” Go, and Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu were not made available.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.