• Volkswagen crowned WRC champs


    E4---VW-WRC20150922Volkswagen celebrated a triumphant success in the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) as Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia won the Rally Australia to secure the title in the Drivers’ and Co-Drivers’ World Championships for the third time in a row. Jari-Matti Latvala andMiikka Anttila finished runner-up in Australia, with Andreas Mikkelsen and Ola Fløene a fine fourth.

    The latest success also means that Volkswagen has wrapped up the Manufacturers’ Championship with the Polo R WRC with races still to come – also for the third time in a row.

    Ogier and Ingrassia went into the final 68.76 kilometers of the Rally Australia just two car lengths ahead of Citroen’s Kris Meeke andPaul Nagle who were second overnight. Over the course of the final day’s five special stages, they extended this lead to 32.6 seconds. Their Volkswagen teammates Latvala and Anttila started the other Sunday 2.6 seconds off the lead, and eventually came home 12.3 seconds behind Ogier and Ingrassia.

    Mikkelsen and Fløene ultimately went unrewarded for their impressive fightback. They did enough out on the road to force Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle out of the final podium position, but a 10-second penalty for arriving late at a time check meant the two Norwegians had to settle for fourth place.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.