Volkswagen, Ogier claim 2015 WRC titles


E4---VW--Rallye-0120151006Volkswagen and Michelin wrapped up three 2015 World Rally Championship titles in Australia the other week. The 2015 Rally Australia saw Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia and their Michelin-equipped Volkswagen Polo R WRC secure the top prize to wrap up the WRC Drivers’ and Co-drivers’ crowns for the third year running.

Volkswagen Motorsport’s Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila and Andreas Mikkelsen and Ola Floene came second and fourth overall in their Michelin-shod Polo R WRCs to sew up the Manufacturers’ title for the German brand.

These titles add to Michelin Motorsport’s impressive record of championship successes in world class-motor sports and reinforce its leading status in the fiercely-competitive WRC that permits open competition between tire companies.

Ogier and Ingrassia took the win in Australia after a close battle with Citroen DS3 WRC crews Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle who trailed by just three-tenths of a second ahead of the final day, with 13 of the event’s 17 tricky stages completed.

The Frenchman went on to win the other Sunday’s four tests, including the Power Stage, to reap the weekend’s three bonus points and make sure of the WRC title at the end of the tenth of the 2015 season’s 13 rounds.

Volkswagen Motorsport has won nine of the 10 rounds contested so far this year: seven with Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia and two with Finns Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Antilla who also share a Michelin-equipped Polo R WRC.

The only rally to have escaped the German make this season was Argentina that was won by Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle onboard a Citroen DS3 WRC.

The result takes Ogier’s personal score to 31 WRC victories and puts him ahead of Marcus Grönholm (30 wins, two titles) since the world championship’s creation in 1973.

“Volkswagen has done a remarkable job since it came into the World Rally Championship. Congratulations to Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia on winning the Drivers’ and Co-drivers’ titles, as well as to Volkswagen and its director Jost Capito on winning not only the Manufacturers’ crown but also Rally Australia, of course!,” said Michelin Motorsport Director Pascal Couasnon.


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.