Voters listed an average of 7 senatorial bets in their ballots in May polls



Majority of voters in the May elections listed only an average of seven senatorial candidates in their ballots, according to the Random Manual Audit Committee (RMAC) of the Commission on Elections (Comelec).

“On the average, Filipino voters opted to vote for only seven senatorial candidates out of the 12 possible senatorial seats,” the committee said in its report.

Ten was the highest average, from the National Capital Region (NCR), followed by Region 4-A (Calabarzon), with nine and eight in Regions 1 (Ilocos Region) and 3 (Central Luzon).

The regions that had the average of seven listed senatorial candidates were Regions 2 (Cagayan Valley), 4-B (Mimaropa), 6 (Western Visayas), 10 (Northern Mindanao), 11 (Davao Region), 12 (Soccsksargen), and Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR).

Three regions had an average of six: Regions 5 (Bicol Region), 7 (Central Visayas), and 9 (Zamboanga Peninsula).

The lowest average was five, registered in Regions 8 (Eastern Visayas), and 13 (Caraga) and the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM).

Earlier, Comelec Chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr. himself admitted he only voted for nine senatorial candidates.

“I am not convinced (with the others). I believe that only nine are really qualified,” the poll chief said back in April during the three-day local absentee voting (LAV).

The 12 newly-elected senators according to their official rankings are Mary Grace Poe-Llamanzares, Loren Legarda, Alan Peter Cayetano, Francis Escudero, Ma. Lourdes Nancy Binay, Juan Edgardo Angara Jr., Paolo Benigno Aquino IV, Aquilino Pimentel 3rd, Antonio Trillanes 4th,  Cynthia Villar, Joseph Victor ‘JV’ Ejercito, and Gregorio Honasan 2nd.




Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.