White, Loy win 4 golds in PSL National Series

Heather White

Heather White

Promising tankers Heather White and Atilla Pia Isabela Loy copped four gold medals each on Sunday in the 84th National Series – Gov. Florencio Miraflores Swimming Championship being held at the Aklan Provincial Sports Complex in Makato, Aklan. White, a British School of Manila standout, topped the girls’ 8 years 200m Individual Medley, 50m backstroke, 50m breaststroke and 50m freestyle while Loy ruled the girls’ 13 years 50m butterfly, 50m backstroke, 50m breaststroke and 50m freestyle.

Jennuel Booh De Leon and Rose Mary Occeno also continued to dominate their respective age groups as they grabbed four gold medals in the event supported by The Manila Times.

De Leon claimed golds in the boys’ 10 years 200m Individual Medley, 50m backstroke, 50m breaststroke and 50m freestyle while Occeno reigned supreme in the girls’ 15-over 200m Individual Medley, 50m backstroke, 50m butterfly and 50m freestyle.

“Very visible ang improvement ng mga bata. We keep on telling them to aim for higher ones. Hindi dapat sila makuntento na hanggang regional or national level lang. Mas masarap lumaban internationallly dahil bitbit natin ang buong bansa, flag ng Philippines ang dala natin,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

Royal Bangkok Swim Meet gold medalist Michael Gabriel Lozada nailed his third record in the boys’ 8 years category.

The eight-year-old Lozada registered 34.52 seconds to bag the 50m freestyle gold medal and erase the 35.35-second old mark.

Lozada earlier notched records in the 200m IM (3:05.59) and 50m backstroke (39.56) to join reigning PSL Female Swimmer of the Year Kyla Soguilon in the list of record breakers.

Soguilon, a Kalibo Sun Yat Sen School pride, registered new marks in the girls’ 10 years 50m butterfly (34.09) and 50m backstroke (35.43) in the tournament organized by the Aklan Swimming Team and the local government of Aklan.

Also winning gold medals on the second day were Jammela Pelaez, Laika Enero, Alic Deniel Dela Cruz, Rencel Uytoco, Matthew Cobrador, Laurenz Roldan, Sancho Navarro, Carlito yuo, Mark Majarucon, Dickson Tolinero, Von Delos Reyes, Ellgine Karl Arsenal, Karl Perlas, Estelle Mendez, Llanice Lozada, Irynne Sustiguer, Queen Andrade, Junalyn Degoma, Victor Cabrera and Rynthon Garcia.

PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).


Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.