• WSOF to hold first tourney in the Philippines


    The World Series of Fighting (WSOF) Global Championship will hold its inaugural tournament in the Philippines on July 30 at the Araneta Coliseum.

    WSOF, which first held an international tilt in China in November, will be featuring five bouts that will pit Filipino mixed martial arts (MMA) fighters against foreign foes.

    According to WSOF Vice President of Operations Jason Lilly, they aim to expand the company’s reach to fight fans in the Southeast Asian region.

    “This was always our plan for 2016. We really planned to branch out throughout the Asian market. We did our second show in Japan in February and now our third international event is here in the Philippines,” he said in an interview during a news conference at the Novotel Hotel in Cubao on Thursday.

    Former WBC Asian Boxing Council Female Atomweight champion Jujeath Nagaowa, who holds a 2-0 record, leads the roster of top local fighters competing in the event.

    Nagaowa will be facing Malaysian standout Audreylaura Boniface in the 105-pound weight class.

    The other Filipino bets are Mario Sismundo, Jenelyn Olsim and Neil Larano.

    Sismundo will be battling Keremuaili Maimaitituoheti of China in his fourth pro fight while Olsim, also undefeated in two matches, will take on Brazilian Nayara Hemily.

    On the other hand, Larano, a rising star in the PXC circuit, will fight Ahmed Mujtaba of Pakistan in one of the night’s undercard bouts.

    Lilly explained what separates WSOF from other MMA tournaments; “The one thing that we have done that no one else has done is that we brought a bunch of different organizations under our umbrella as a platform for all fighters. There’s a lot of fighters there and we want to bring them together in one world championship,” he said.

    Lilly revealed that one lucky spectator would win P1 million cash prize during fight night.

    The main event will feature Russian champion Evgeny Erokhin fighting American Richard Odoms, and a four-man flyweight mini-tournament.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.