• Year 2 for Sinag Maynila

    Festival director Brillante Mendoza with festival CEO and founder Wilson Tieng

    Festival director Brillante Mendoza with festival CEO and founder Wilson Tieng

    After a successful first year of making the rounds of international film festivals, Sinag Maynila is ready to open its second edition, according to festival director Brillante Mendoza.

    “The exposure of the filmmakers [from last year’s finalists]in other countries brings pride and honor to SinagMaynila and to the Filipino Filmmaker,” said the multi-awarded director. “And as we welcome our second year, our independent film festival already has a line-up of brand new films to be premiered this April.”

    Conceptualized and helmed by festival CEO and founder Wilson Tieng, together Mendoza, SinagMaynila gives grants to independent filmmakers to develop their material into full-length films for public exhibition. For 2016, the festival opened up to hundreds of Filipino independent filmmakers, but whittled down the finalists to a total of five. Each one closely collaborated with Tieng and Mendoza in filming their pieces using the grant resulting in stories that reflect the Filipino culture.

    The five finalists are Mrs. by Adolf Alix Jr. (starring Elizabeth Oropesa, Lotlot de Leon, Rosanna Roces, Anita Linda, and Mark Herras); Expressway by Ato Bautista (Alvin Anson, Aljur Abrenica, RK Bagatsing, Kiko Matos, Inez Bernardo, Japo Parcero, Arpee Bautista, Jim Libiran); Dyamper by Mes De Guzman (Carlo Aquino, Alchris Galura, Tim Mabalot, Kristofer King, Liza Dino-Seguerra, and Debbie Garcia); T.P.O. by Jay Altarejos (Oliver Aquino, Mara Lopez, Micko Laurente, Menggie Cobarrubias, and Lui Manansala); and Lila by Gino Santos (Janine Gutierrez, Enchong Dee, Sherry Lara, Miggs Cuaderno, Kate Alejandrino, and Socrates Jose).

    The 2nd Sinag Maynila Film Festival will run from April 21 to 26.


    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.