• Young tankers share limelight in Sen. Nikki Coseteng Cup


    Maurice Sacho Ilustre and Gabriel Labasan shared the limelight in the Sen. Nikki Coseteng Cup swimming competition as they won gold medals in record-breaking fashion last Sunday at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Pool in Manila.

    Ilustre, 13, won seven gold medals while Labasan, 7, copped five golds in their respective events in the tournament organized by the Philippine Swimming League headed by its president Susan Papa.

    Ilustre, a gold medalist in the Palarong Pambansa, topped the 200-meter individual medley (2:19.65), 100m butterfly (1:01.12), 100m freestyle (57.15), 800m freestyle (9:42.04), 400m freestyle (4:32.16), 200m butterfly (2:17.62) and 50m freestyle (26.72).

    Labasan ruled the 50m butterfly (44.13), 100m freestyle (1:23.81), 50m backstroke (43.70), 50m breaststroke (48.09) and 50m freestyle (37.26).

    University Athletic Association of the Philippines champion Claire Adorna also made her presence felt by topping the 100m butterfly (1:02.5) and 100m freestyle (59.81) events.

    Seven-year-old Gabriel Labasan broke all five PSL records – 50m fly (44.13), 100m free (1:23.81), 50m back (43.70), 50m breast (48.09) and 50m freestyle (37.26).

    Also winning gold medals were Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Kyla Soguilon, Gabriel Labasan, Noah Labasan, Michael Lozada, Meynard Geof Marcelino, Jesreel Francisco, Francheska Ezzabella Joves, Carmen Rose Matabuena, Mary Angelic Saavedra, Charize Juliana Esmero, Marc Bryan Dula, Emanuel Joshua Lorbes, Lans Rawlin Donato, Imee Joyce Saavedra, Christine Jhoy Mendoza, Bridgette Raine Bultron, Maxine Ugaban, Coleen Dizon, Chloe Ann Fabic, Priscila Loren Aquino, Seth Isaak Martin, Yuri Ilustre, Jeffrey Azor, Sean Terence Zamora, Aubrey Tom, Bela Louise Magtibay, Mary Julianne Solita,  Portia Doragos, John Carlo Doragos, and Carmen Rose Matabuena.




    Please follow our commenting guidelines.

    Comments are closed.