Young tankers shine at PSL meet



Promising tankers Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh, Maurice Sacho Ilustre and McTracy Alindogan shared the limelight by winning gold medals on Saturday in the 51st Philippine Swimming League (PSL) Series at the Diliman Preparatory School (DPS) swimming pool in Quezon City.

The seven-year-old Mojdeh, a member of the relay champion team that broke record in the 2013 Royal Bangkok Swimming Championships in Thailand recently, ruled the girls’ 7 years 25-meter breaststroke, 100m individual medley (IM), 100m backstroke and 50m freestyle.

During the Bangkok meet, Mojdeh was hospitalized for one day due to food poisoning but insisted in competing.

“This kid [Mojdeh] has improved a lot and she proved to us today that she has the ability to compete and win against some of the country’s best swimmers of her age. We want to develop young talents like her,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

Also making waves on Day One are Ilustre and Alidogan, both multi-gold medalists in the Palarong Pambansa along withBangkok meet gold medalist Emanuel Joshua Lorbes.

Ilustre reigned supreme in the boys’ 14 years 50m breaststroke, 100m IM and 50m breaststroke while Alindogan dominated the boys’ 13 years 50m breaststroke, 100m IM and 400m IM.

Lorbes topped the boys’ 16 years 100m IM, 200m backstroke, 50m breaststroke and 50m freestyle in the tournament organized by the PSL in cooperation with the DPS headed by Senator Nikki Coseteng.

“This is the last competition of the year and we double up the participants this time compared to last year’s turn out. We’re aiming to discover young talents for our future international competitions,” added Papa.

Other gold medalists are Ma. Claire Adorna, Inaki Emil Lorbes, Yuri Ilustre, Joy Rodgers, Paula Cayanan, Gabriel Labasan, Seth Martin, Paula Vilamil, Christine Mendoza, John kyle Mendoza, Jerard Jacinto, Marc Bryan Dula, Lawrence Macapagal, Jordan Lobos, Noah Labasan, Michael Lozada, Angela Niones, Maynard Marcelino, Angelic Saavedra, Bella Magtibay, Phoebe Orlina, Andrea Pacheco, Priscila Aquino, Portia Doragos, John Carlo Doragos, Aubrey Tom. Chloe Fabic and Vaugh Andre Aquino.




Please follow our commenting guidelines.

Comments are closed.